Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-06-2011, 11:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 114
Question Is it possible to overpack a Fluval 405?

I have a 405. It came with BioMax and Carbon.

I was told that Seachem's Matrix was better than BioMax.

I fully expected to fill the canister with Matrix (I bought 2 liters of product) but it only filled two trays to the top.

Also, I packed my bottom tray with poly-fill.

Then, I took the BioMax and poured 95% of it into the top tray (two trays into one).

So I tripled or quadrupled the bio-media and have it packed full(!). It has good output but I am sure it is less that it was before (more friction).

Is this okay? Typical?
__________________

__________________
Gnarls Gnarlington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 12:20 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
That's why I only fill the biomedia trays at 2/3 to 3/4 and I don't try to over stuff the ploy-fil. A good handful in each section is more than enough IMO/E. One new user to poly-fil jammed his tray full of poly-fil and notice low flow, he reduced the amount and it worked great for him.
__________________

__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 12:22 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jcolon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 3,470
Send a message via AIM to jcolon Send a message via Skype™ to jcolon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnarls Gnarlington View Post
I have a 405. It came with BioMax and Carbon.

I was told that Seachem's Matrix was better than BioMax.

I fully expected to fill the canister with Matrix (I bought 2 liters of product) but it only filled two trays to the top.

Also, I packed my bottom tray with poly-fill.

Then, I took the BioMax and poured 95% of it into the top tray (two trays into one).

So I tripled or quadrupled the bio-media and have it packed full(!). It has good output but I am sure it is less that it was before (more friction).

Is this okay? Typical?
Sounds like your good to go ... you'll have plenty of places for BB to grown and you have the bottom tray for Poly-Fill.
__________________
75g Planted Barbs Denison, BlackRuby, Tiger, Albino Tiger, Green Tiger, Cherry, Gold, Checkered, Odessa.
NonBarbs Cardinal, Neon, RummyNose, Bloodfin Tetras, Z. Danios. 1RTS. Amano, Bamboo, Ghost & RCS. 20g Long Shrimp Tank RCS, Tiger, Amano.
jcolon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 12:23 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Limpet
That's why I only fill the biomedia trays at 2/3 to 3/4 and I don't try to over stuff the ploy-fil. A good handfull in each section is more than enough IMO/E. One new user to poly-fil jammed his tray full of poly-fil and notice low flow, he reduced the amount and it worked great for him.
That would be me, lol. I also have a 405. Thanks to the recommendation from Mr. Limpet I have Poly-fil lightly packed in the bottom basket, bio-media in the middle 2 (Bio-max vs Matrix is highly debatable) and my top basket is filled with random filter media to use as seeding material if needed.
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 12:29 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by eco23

That would be me, lol. I also have a 405. Thanks to the recommendation from Mr. Limpet I have Poly-fil lightly packed in the bottom basket, bio-media in the middle 2 (Bio-max vs Matrix is highly debatable) and my top basket is filled with random filter media to use as seeding material if needed.
Hehe... I didn't want to name names.

I measure the amount of biomedia in relation to the tank/stock, since only so much bacteria can feed off the ammo/no2/no3 and just because you have a ton of it doesn't mean the bacteria will use it all. But I'm sure others will have a different/better theory.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 01:50 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 114
I'm not worried about being efficient I guess, I am more worried about frying the motor!
__________________
Gnarls Gnarlington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 02:03 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnarls Gnarlington
I'm not worried about being efficient I guess, I am more worried about frying the motor!
As long as you've got good flow coming from the power head you'll be fine. It was obvious I packed too much poly-fil in the first time. The manual even says you can reduce the flow to 50% power, so as long as things don't appear off you'll be good to go . When I first added too much, you could hear the motor struggle and there was barely flow from the output. The symptoms were obvious and I immediately knew there was a problem.
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 02:16 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Crepe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,332
I've been dying to try seachem matrix but I don't want to shell out another 40 bucks to slowly replace my bio max with. All my trays are about 70% filled with bio max and I couldn't be happier. Living with crystal clear, stable water.
__________________
Crepe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 02:20 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crepe
I've been dying to try seachem matrix but I don't want to shell out another 40 bucks to slowly replace my bio max with. All my trays are about 70% filled with bio max and I couldn't be happier. Living with crystal clear, stable water.
I read some different articles today about Bio-Max and Matrix. It reminds me of some of the NLS arguments we see here on AA, hahaha! I'm starting to draw the conclusion that when two sides are that passionate in opposite directions...the truth normally lies somewhere in the middle.

I say if it ain't broke, don't fix it
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 02:28 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
I'm slowly switching all my biomedia over to Eheim Substrat Pro. Its got great surface area for bacteria and being a round reather than flat media, there's less wasted surface area that bacteria and water can't get to.
__________________

__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, fluval 405, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluval 205 Florida-Guy1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 07-04-2011 06:44 PM
Fluval fx5 vs Rena xp4 Von Devilish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 07-04-2011 02:06 PM
Fluval Canister Question sabrownfl General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 07-03-2011 01:22 AM
Can I paint a part on my fluval filter? superdave07 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-26-2011 12:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.