Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-20-2012, 06:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 15
Is it possible to run two filter pads?

When changing the filter pad, can you put a new pad with the older one to recieve the bacteria ? And then eventually taking the old one out so the I have the new one. Thanks !

__________________

__________________
Mb102593 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 06:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
James95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 9
Yes, it's possible. Depends on what type of filter you have. If there's room for an extra filter pad I would fill the extra space with biomedia instead. Then you can change the cartridge without saving the old one.
__________________

__________________
-James95-
James95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 06:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,351
Tank Filtration

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mb102593 View Post
When changing the filter pad, can you put a new pad with the older one to recieve the bacteria ? And then eventually taking the old one out so the I have the new one. Thanks !

Hello M...

You can. Just squeeze and rinse the pads together in a bucket of the old water change water and put them into the filter. That way, you always have a new pad in the filter.

Don't forget to change out half the water in in the tank every week. This will guarantee tank water stability.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you clean up an aquarium that is ruined by mineral deposits? EMBastyr DIY Projects 25 06-16-2012 06:39 PM
Why is my sand in my 10gallon tank so dirty? Ryleyman Cichlid Discussion 153 03-29-2012 07:36 PM
Cant get my snowflake polyps to open TigerBarbs Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 11 03-20-2012 07:48 PM
New to fish keeping. Advice welcome. Josh-shoot2kill Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 03-20-2012 06:26 PM
my coral is closed up - any ideas? etoja Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 03-20-2012 05:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.