Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 02-13-2014, 07:04 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Is my current aquarium lighting suitable?

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to aquarium keeping, with a couple of years of practice, and would much appreciate some opinions with regards to my current lighting setup.

A few months ago I purchased a 54 litre/14 us gallon aquarium which came fitted with a CFL bulb listed as 11W E27 with a colour temperature of 6500k. I've never been particularly strong when it comes to the lighting aspect of aquarium keeping, so I was wondering if the experts would consider this adequate for my tank. I'm suspecting it's not, as some of my once red/purple plants have lost a lot of their colour.

The tank is planted and stocked with fish, and the water depth is approximately 30cm/12in. Due to the positioning of the bulb in the hood, the left half of the aquarium is bathed in light, whereas the right half is a little more shaded. A couple of the plants on the right are looking somewhat sad, so I'm wondering if the light is just too weak (water conditions are fine, and some acclimating shock was expected, as some of the plants are just a couple of weeks old in the tank).

My current plants are as follows:
A half dozen marimo, Christmas moss, Alternanthera reineckii roseafolia, Ceratopteris thalictroides, Lilaeopsis brasiliensis, Anubias barteri vars. nana and caladiifolia, Ludwigia repens 'Rubin', Echinodorus amazonicus, Crinum calmistratum, Cardamine lyrata, Microsorum pteropus, Hydrocotyle verticillata, Hornwort, Eleocharis parvula and Limnophila hippuridoides.