Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-25-2010, 07:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
Is my skimmer broken...

Ok so Ive had my reef octopus skimmer for about 3 months now. So it SHOULD be broken in. However unless my sump is filled up to the red line showed below, it will not produce any overflow into the cup:





It makes froth, just never reached the cup. To me that doesnt make any sence because i've seen skimmers in MUCH shallower water and be able to skim no problem.

On my skimmer I have this little pole that you can adjust up and down (shown in blue below). However, its not a tight fit inside the chamber. Its very wiggly and when I try to pull it up a bit, i feel like its going to slide right back down:




So what am I doing wrong?
__________________

__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 08:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
first of all i believe 8-10 inches is how deep these skimmers are supposed to be submerged.
secondly, if i'm not mistaken, you turn that pole, you don't slide it up or down. at least it's this way on the larger models.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 09:35 PM   #3
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Is the skimmer in a section of the sump where the water level never drops from evaporation? As Doug said, they should be run in 8"-10" of water and that level should never change.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 09:47 PM   #4
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
And you're right, that pole is how you adjust the water level inside the skimmer, although as stated above you want the skimmer to sit in 8-10" of water. By adjusting that pole up and down is how you set how wet or dry it skims. If you're collecting nothing in the cup, then you need to raise that pole up quite a bit.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 09:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccCapt View Post
Is the skimmer in a section of the sump where the water level never drops from evaporation? As Doug said, they should be run in 8"-10" of water and that level should never change.

Because i use a rubbermaid bin as my sump, the water level in it is the same everywhere. I'm about to make a new sump tomorrow because I get my new stand tomorrow. How should i design this one so my sump chamber is always the same water level?
__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 10:18 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
you need to partition it from the return pump. make at least 2 chambers in the sump.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 11:00 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
Ah I see, Thanks a lot
__________________

__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New nano skimmer... broken...??? pbreaction General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 09-16-2009 06:11 AM
Broken off....what can we do? Melissamustang Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-19-2005 05:32 AM
Can someone explain why a protein skimmer needs broken in? vipvenom General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 09-08-2005 02:29 PM
Skimmer Broken?? Dayna Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 07-08-2004 04:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.