Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-14-2009, 03:18 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Squid View Post
I was assuming it would be alright to just unplug one of the bulbs and leave it out of the fixture all together. Why? Do you think that wouldn't be possible? Ugh oh.... tell me I didnt just force myself to buy a CO2 system! haha.
I'll be the first to admit that I know next to nothing about electrical stuff, but that doesn't sound all that safe to me. Given that there is still electricity running to that part of the fixture, do you think that's a good idea? It's not a rhetorical question or anything, I honestly don't know.
__________________

severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 10:36 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishEggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 2,211
it depends on how the ballast and wiring is set up. it used to be that if one of the bulbs was out the other bulb would not light unless it is 2 separate ballasts. I dont know how that fixture is since i've never owned one. it might still light just one bulb with one removed.
as to the safety of leaving one bulb out and having live ends, as long as you dont touch the ends or stick a wire between them it should be just as safe as a wall outlet.
__________________

__________________
~Matt~
If you put off what you can do today until tomorrow it will never get done cause tomorrow never comes. It's always today.
FishEggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 11:05 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 364
I'm not terribly worried about having an open socket. I have a glass cover over the tank and the fixture will be on stilts to protect from any potential splash. Though you can bet I'll be staying in the same room as the tank for the first day or two to watch for any funny business.
I'm more worried that it won't run now without both bulbs in. I really cant afford a CO2 system just yet... plus i was looking forward to starting simple and building up with my skill level. Ah well, I'll let you all know tomorrow what happens.
__________________
Da Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 11:57 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishEggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 2,211
nothing like jumping in the deep end with both feet to learn how to swim.
__________________
~Matt~
If you put off what you can do today until tomorrow it will never get done cause tomorrow never comes. It's always today.
FishEggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 12:05 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 364
true. But I must confess I swim like a rock! I was just thinking though, it may be sensible for me to find a 48 inch bulb that is in a spectrum that plants Can't use. That way the light will still run with one good T5 and I wont put forcing my plants into hyperactive growth patterns.
Back to the point of this thread though, this sounds like a good light for cheap and I'll post a review tommorow to let you know if its worth it.
__________________
Da Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 02:03 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 364
Well, I was wrong, the fixture won't run unless both bulbs are plugged in so I'll have to seek out another bulb that is below the 6.7-10k range. First impressions though, the light works great, it fits easily on the tank and doesn't get too warm. I'd recommend it.
__________________
Da Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 07:36 PM   #27
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
You can only run one socket empty if you have an electronic ballast & it has to be wired in parallel. It is prob not worth it to take apart a brand new fixture to do rewiring even if it is possible, so you may as well leave well enough alone.

If you get an actinic bulb for the other side, then you would have only one bulb with light the plants can "see". That would be the easiest solution.
__________________

__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
60 gallon, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
60G Cichlid Tank Re-done!!! FishCrazyBenBOMB Cichlid Discussion 13 03-03-2009 12:26 PM
60g lake tanganyika tank.. Ky'smommy Cichlid Discussion 6 02-02-2007 04:57 AM
60g tank - need help choosing fish spoogehead Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 10-10-2004 07:11 PM
Help choosing lights for my FW 60g tank. xcuter General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 06-23-2004 01:31 AM
new 60g Tank?s jester Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-29-2003 06:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.