Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-05-2011, 12:27 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Adina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 20
Question Is this normal for a hob filter?

I noticed today that my hob filter is also pouring water out of the right side (the side where the intake is). its not coming out of the intake(or the hole it goes into), just overflow from the back of the box, but its constant. is this ok for water to be coming out of both sides?



__________________

__________________
Adina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 02:04 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
picture_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 734
This happens to me when the filter pads are clogged/gunk is built up and not enough water can get out so it overflows and exits through the other side, maybe you can give them a rinse in tank water?

Although from the picture it doesn't look they're dirty.
__________________

__________________
picture_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 08:15 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Retired_AF's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 738
No, this isnt normal. Fortunately the filter is molded so it channels the water back to the tank instead of the floor.

As stated above, this usually happens when the filters are clogged. I dont see any discoloration on either pad, so I assume either the filter pads or the whole assembly is new.

I would check the housing that holds the impeller and make sure it is fully seated. This filter looks like the one I have on my shrimp tank. If it is, you can remove the intake tube, then pull the entire housing the tube was connected to straight up and out of the housing. (Be careful not to break the impeller) The impeller should come up with it.

Make sure there is no gunk or anything from the factory (sytrofoam bits, plastic residue, etc.) in the channel that feeds to the filters, then reseat the housing and make sure it goes all the way down. The shaft of the impeller has a rubber piece on the end that seats into a small holder at the bottom of the filter housing and another at the top where it contacts the housing. If the impeller is not aligned correctly it could cause the housing not to seat properly and the water would not be fully channeled where it should be.

That SHOULD take care of your issue. If not, something is blocking the water from going to the filter pads and you will need to find the culprit and remove it.

Good luck!
__________________
Jim
Why do I love fish? Because every time I stare into the little world I have created for them, every problem I have just floats away....
Retired_AF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 05:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Adina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 20
Thank you I will try this when I get home tonight and post the results. The entire unit is brand new so it's not a mater of dirty filters. Hopefully it's just something easily fixable like you said.
__________________
Adina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 06:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adina
Thank you I will try this when I get home tonight and post the results. The entire unit is brand new so it's not a mater of dirty filters. Hopefully it's just something easily fixable like you said.
If this is an aqua tech filter every single one I had did this I had about 7 in total brand new and they all did this
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 08:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mason City, iowa
Posts: 552
I have one to, running it as a spare. I finally got tired of it overflowing out the other side and only using the one filter cartridge. The course sponge isn't very good and seemed to block the flow.
__________________
ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:07 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Aces11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Huntley, IL
Posts: 976
I have a filter just like that and it runs fine, no problems. The overflowing like that isn't normal though. My other hob filter did that. It usually means its clogged or something.
__________________
Aces11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:10 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aces11
I have a filter just like that and it runs fine, no problems. The overflowing like that isn't normal though. My other hob filter did that. It usually means its clogged or something.
All mine overflowed out of the box so they were not clogged
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:14 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Aces11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Huntley, IL
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan-peddle
All mine overflowed out of the box so they were not clogged
That's odd. I only had this issue with my old hob filter. It used to never do it unless it was clogged, bit then it did it all the time and I just replaced it with an AC filter today and it also works fine. My aquatech filter doesn't overflow either.
__________________
Aces11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:08 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Adina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 20
its an aqua-tech 5-15 filter. still dont have any fish so its a clean filter. but i did notice once i lift the blue carbon filter up the water doesnt overflow. so maby its not letting the water flow through the blue filter? like its too think or something. one day ill probably replace the filter but i would rather not have to anytime too soon. if its flowing out of both sides is the water even getting properly filtered?
__________________
Adina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:10 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
picture_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adina
its an aqua-tech 5-15 filter. still dont have any fish so its a clean filter. but i did notice once i lift the blue carbon filter up the water doesnt overflow. so maby its not letting the water flow through the blue filter? like its too think or something. one day ill probably replace the filter but i would rather not have to anytime too soon. if its flowing out of both sides is the water even getting properly filtered?
Ohh, that's happened to me with a brand new carbon filter cartridge too, the carbon, if to big doesn't let water flow through fast enough. It's basically the same thing as if it was full of gunk. I don't know why I didn't think of that.
__________________
picture_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:20 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Adina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 20
hmm. so i could probably just replace the carbon filter and it should be fine? do you think i should try to rinse it out under some water and maybe that will move some carbon around? (i haven't started cycling yet so there's no worry about losing any beneficial bacteria) if i should just replace the filter what do you suggest i replace it with? just another carbon filter?
__________________
Adina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:29 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adina
hmm. so i could probably just replace the carbon filter and it should be fine? do you think i should try to rinse it out under some water and maybe that will move some carbon around? (i haven't started cycling yet so there's no worry about losing any beneficial bacteria) if i should just replace the filter what do you suggest i replace it with? just another carbon filter?
The carbon is pretty much useless anyway I don't run it in any of my tanks I would throw out the carbon and put a bag of bio max instead or ceramic rings they won't slow the flow down any and are much more beneficial
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:31 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
Look for an aqua clear box of bio max or ceramic rings one for an aqua clear 20 should fit your filter
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:34 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mason City, iowa
Posts: 552
You can also cut an "x" in the pad and remove some or all of the carbon. Carbon only last for a few weeks, and you can use the same cartridge until it falls apart, just rinse it in tank water to clean when doing a water change.
__________________
ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:38 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
I had a tetra whisper filter that did this straight out of the box, brand new. It was horrible. I have two aqua-tech HOB filters that came with my 5 gallon tanks and they do NOT do this. I have since learned that these are both made by tetra (basically the same design). I guess it is hit or miss, and you could always contact the manufacturer, but from now on I am sticking with Hagan filters.
__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:46 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
picture_117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 734
Yeah you could do what others have suggested.

I'd remove that and add in a sponge & biomax. Maybe some poly-fill.

Good thing you haven't started cycling, I like you researched the problem ! Since when you remove the carbon cartridge it flows freely it is not a filter defect.
__________________
picture_117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 01:07 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Adina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 20
So this product would be a good replacement?
AquaClear BioMax Filter Insert - Filter Media - Fish - PetSmart
Are they in a bag so their not loose?
For now I'll try to cut an "X" and take out the carbon and see if that helps any. But probably wont start cycling until I get the new filter media though.
__________________
Adina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 08:34 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adina
So this product would be a good replacement?
AquaClear BioMax Filter Insert - Filter Media - Fish - PetSmart
Are they in a bag so their not loose?
For now I'll try to cut an "X" and take out the carbon and see if that helps any. But probably wont start cycling until I get the new filter media though.
That's tge stuff
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 06:06 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Adina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 20
tge?
and also should i replace the white filter? nothing is wrong with it and it allows the water to flow through but would i need a filter that would filter out finer particles? (i will also be getting a pre-filter to put over the intake because i plan on getting some cherry shrimp)
__________________

__________________
Adina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, hob, hob filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New filter TheBruce1314 New Acquisitions 2 12-04-2011 11:23 PM
help with canister filter PLEASE heathers_hounds General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 17 11-05-2011 06:14 AM
Quick question Regarding Marineland Power Filter Convict2161 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 10-21-2011 06:10 PM
need filter advice for 29 gallon ashleynicole Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 09-14-2011 01:48 AM
How to fast cycle with an API NEXX filter (or any filter)) zparticle Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 09-11-2011 09:36 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×