Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-26-2011, 04:41 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
pitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Newport, South Wales.
Posts: 68
Is this test kit okay ?

Heyy yesterday I bought the test kits for testing nitrite and nitrate and I was wondering if this one was okay to use?I started cycling my tank yesterday. Because people have been saying that there bitrite level is like 0. what ever but on this test kit I got it's got: Safe , water change.
Do I need to buy a test kit that tests for 0-8 like the ammonia one?
Heres some photos of the test kit, Hope you can help me
Attachment 35636
Attachment 35637
__________________

__________________
><((((> .`.><((((> .`.><((((>
.`.><((((> .`.><((((>.`.


pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 04:44 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
pitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Newport, South Wales.
Posts: 68
Ergh, sorry the photos are not working i'll try and get them up
__________________

__________________
><((((> .`.><((((> .`.><((((>
.`.><((((> .`.><((((>.`.


pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 04:45 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bl414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 110
I'd recommend the API freshwAter master kit, it has everything you need. You definitely need an ammonia test if your cycling
__________________
Bl414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 04:47 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
pitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Newport, South Wales.
Posts: 68
Is this test kit okay ?

Heyy yesterday I bought the test kits for testing nitrite and nitrate and I was wondering if this one was okay to use?I started cycling my tank yesterday. Because people have been saying that there bitrite level is like 0. what ever but on this test kit I got it's got: Safe , water change.
Do I need to buy a test kit that tests for 0-8 like the ammonia one?
Heres some photos of the test kit, Hope you can help me

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0134.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	204.6 KB
ID:	35638

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0135.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	199.6 KB
ID:	35639

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0136.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	206.7 KB
ID:	35640
__________________
><((((> .`.><((((> .`.><((((>
.`.><((((> .`.><((((>.`.


pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 04:48 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
pitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Newport, South Wales.
Posts: 68
Is this test kit okay ? - theres the photos i have an ammonia one
__________________
><((((> .`.><((((> .`.><((((>
.`.><((((> .`.><((((>.`.


pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 05:09 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 150
It looks like these are test 'strips' and if so, opinion says they are unreliable, or inaccurate. I like that it tests gh and kh though...

You may want to consider getting a liquid test kit. API Fresh Water Master Test Kit to be exact.
Nutrafin/Hagen has a good one as well, comes in a blue carrying and you'll save alot of money by getting a master kit over buying each test seperately.

Nutrafin - http://www.hagen.com/uk/aquatic/prod...01078600030101

API - http://www.aquariumpharm.com/Product...x?ProductID=67
__________________
36 Bowfront
j2112j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 05:17 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
pitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Newport, South Wales.
Posts: 68
Okay thanks I think this was about 10 as I live in the UK im not sure how much that is in canada, im bad at maths sorry haha im going shopping thursday so i'll pop in the aquarium shop with my friend to see if I can find one thanks you again
__________________
><((((> .`.><((((> .`.><((((>
.`.><((((> .`.><((((>.`.


pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 05:23 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 150
The API is around $30 to $40 CAN, so hmm, maybe 20 or so pounds ?
The nutrafin kit is much more (has more tests that you may not really need) but I mentioned it in case you can't find the API kit.

Good Luck
__________________
36 Bowfront
j2112j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 05:59 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
pitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Newport, South Wales.
Posts: 68
Okay thank you so much
__________________

__________________
><((((> .`.><((((> .`.><((((>
.`.><((((> .`.><((((>.`.


pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
test, test kit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which test kit? HappyHooligan Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 01-02-2010 12:49 PM
API Test Kit vs Test Strips--Dead fish--No Refund Jewel Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-31-2008 12:35 AM
Phosphate test kit dark blue...range higher than max on kit MyCatsDrool Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 02-13-2007 08:20 AM
o2 test kit? SparKy697 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-13-2007 08:57 AM
What's the best test kit..and why? rdefino General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 09-11-2004 03:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.