Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-26-2007, 07:33 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Frogspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Falling Waters WV
Posts: 486
Is this too muc weight?

i have a 30g SW reef tank i am setting up and was wondering if i could put my semi new cpr HOB refuge on my new tank. the spec of the HOB refuge is 25.5"Lx4.5"W x14"H. with the water in the refuge it weights 51pounds not counting Live rock and Sand. my tanks specs are 20Lx20"W 18"H . i know the refuge sticks out a little from the tank but all the supports are on the tank and its not moving. i dont think i will have a problem of it not staying there. i am just wondering if the weight of one of these refuges will over time brake the back of the tank.
or should i put a sump under the tank and pump it up with a pump?
thanks again
__________________

__________________
Frogspawn
If it was not for mistakes we would never get better.
Frogspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 09:36 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Your tank should be able to handle the load but personally I'd try to prop it up below with a 2X4 or wall bracket just to be on the safe side.

If you did install it with a sump below the tank you would just have it take water from the sump and put back into the sump letting the sump pump put the water back into the tank.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 03:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Frogspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Falling Waters WV
Posts: 486
ok thats what i was thinking about was puting a sump in the bottom mabey 5 or 10 gallon. the HOB holds 5.9gallons but i want to have as much water as possible. my next question is..
i want to have copods in my sump and have the pump carry them to the main tank for feeding. would they get crushed when they went through the pump? and would it be a good idea?
thanks again
__________________
Frogspawn
If it was not for mistakes we would never get better.
Frogspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 03:54 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Tons and tons of pods will travel through the pump with no problem. I have a 20g fuge on my reef tank and it is just teeming with life. I don't take the pods or mysis out of the fuge and put them in the tank they just make it there. In fact all the different parts of my tank, display, overflow, skimmer tank, fuge and return tank have pods and mysis in them. They have traveld through the various pumps and plumbing to get to those areas.
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 03:54 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
If trying to aquaculture pods then I'd leave it as a HOB fuge which will give you a greater chance for their survival then trying to make it though a pump. Some do make it through sump pumps though depending on the size/type of pump.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 11:46 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Frogspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Falling Waters WV
Posts: 486
would pods be good for a Reef set up?
__________________
Frogspawn
If it was not for mistakes we would never get better.
Frogspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 09:48 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
pods are good for any setup If your lr doesn't provide enough you can also order them online.

www.reefnutrition.com
www.ipsf.com
www.inlandaquatics.com
www.seahorse.com
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 12:25 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Frogspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Falling Waters WV
Posts: 486
k i am going to HANG with the HOB refuge. and see how that goes.
thanks again
__________________

__________________
Frogspawn
If it was not for mistakes we would never get better.
Frogspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weight??? smittyjr18 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 15 04-08-2007 04:57 PM
Weight melosu58 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 02-19-2007 12:16 AM
How much weight ?? SparKy697 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 12-09-2006 01:55 AM
too much weight? greatgman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 10-23-2004 09:21 AM
How much weight? FLIP Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 4 10-01-2004 07:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.