jebo R331

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

redders83

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hi all,

im using a Jebo R331 tank.

it is a 20l tank with in-water pump and the suction will come from a piece of "waterbed" thingy...

question is im covering this "waterbed" thing with sand and gravel at the moment, therefore only water gets sucked by the pump, no dirt/sh*t gets sucked. is this meant to be the way the tank works? or i should not put sand/gravel at all?

sorry for the terminologies i used as im a newbie.. :>

anyway, i drafted a picture of how my tank looks like.. hope it helps...
thanks in advance...

Attachments

• tank_801.jpg
    tank_801.jpg
    16.2 KB · Views: 887
  • tank_172.jpg
    tank_172.jpg
    16.2 KB · Views: 1,569
FYI, filters perform various tasks like mechanical, biological and chemical filtration. Quick definition of each:
mech - particle matter, biological - nitrogen breakdown by-products, chemical - dissolved substances.

From your diagram, you filtration system looks like a morph between a UGF and a power filter. In which case, I wouldn't really recommend a sand substrate. For this situation, I would be relying on the tank filter for biological and partial mech filt, and you (when doing PWC), to have a grav vac to get rid of the wastes.

thanks scarf for the quick introduction.. :)

im actually using gravel instead of sand but in any case, the waste still does not get cleared by the filter... think i will have to remove the waste manually when doing PWC...

btw, im also given a pack of small hollow ceramic cylinders...
may i know what is that used for? currently im just putting half in the gravel and half in the filter..

Removing the waste manually with a gravel vaccum is generally the way to go :)