Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 06-03-2006, 03:44 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 33
Jump starting an AquaClear..

Alright so I think I will be starting up a new tank in the next couple of weeks and I chose the AquaClear 110/500 as my filter. I currently have an Eheim Ecco up and running and I had the idea of taking some of the Ehfi Substrat Pro from the Eheim and using that in the AC media bag instead of the ceramic rings they give you. This is a sure way to speed up the cycle, correct? I've been doing research for most of the evening and it looks like I'll have 2 sponges + the substrat pro/whatever media is best in the AC.

Comments are welcome and appreciated. 8)

woo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 04:14 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 63
If you can, go ahead and get the AC 110 and run it in your tank until you get the new one set up. Then move the AC to the new one. I did that with my 10gal and moved it to the new 37gal and cycled in 1 week. Also moving anything from the established tank, plastic plants, substrate in a stocking or anything will help. Or if you have to wait to get the new setup all at once, then yes you have a good plan. If you run 2 sponges and the Bio-rings, you may have to trim the sponge down in height some.
Sounds like your reading the right pages on your research.

R&L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 04:26 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,995
Definetly get your AC110 running on existing tank, like R&L said. I don't know if you can adjust flow rate with the AC110, but I would try to keep it down a bit, unless you want your tank to turn into a whirlpool
Billsgate is offline   Reply With Quote

aquaclear, clear, starting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jump starting a 10 gal. scalesojustice Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 09-29-2006 06:14 AM
Help with jump starting a java fern rhizome 7Enigma Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 09-28-2006 07:28 AM
jump-starting new 5.5 gal. for my snail Tostada Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 08-16-2006 10:29 PM
don't jump! jcarlilesiu Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 07-13-2006 12:39 AM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.