Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-18-2011, 08:08 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Great. What about that kh.. figure that out yet?
I'm definitely going to pick one of these up if that works out

Does an RO/DI unit remove the so called "trace elements" from the water that the fishies need?
__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 08:11 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I'm not sure. i know it removes like everything though. I think the ebay item page lists what it removes.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 08:40 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
From what I just googled the salt mix should provide the trace elements needed.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:36 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottayy
From what I just googled the salt mix should provide the trace elements needed.
That's correct
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 02:27 AM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
thanks for this find carey
I just ordered one
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 04:05 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottayy
thanks for this find carey
I just ordered one
Great, we'll all be waiting for your review too .
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 10:59 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Hillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 151
Hey, just a quick question. What TDS meter did you get? I was thinking of getting an in-line one so I can monitor it and know when I need to replace the filters, but the seller also has a TDS tester that goes right into the water. The in-line ones are a little pricey but it may be worth it. Just curious as to which type you got. Thanks!
__________________
Hillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 11:02 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
denwhite16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Westerville, Ohio
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hillage View Post
Hey, just a quick question. What TDS meter did you get? I was thinking of getting an in-line one so I can monitor it and know when I need to replace the filters, but the seller also has a TDS tester that goes right into the water. The in-line ones are a little pricey but it may be worth it. Just curious as to which type you got. Thanks!

I just ordered this one the other day. $14 free shipping

New Digital TDS Meter Tester Water PPM Filter Purity - eBay (item 290551421904 end time Apr-30-11 23:59:16 PDT)
__________________
denwhite16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 09:25 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Just got mine!
Very sturdy and solid feeling.
Idiot proof, really, like carey said.

Only problem is my stupid sink faucet. Nothing ever fits it (not just this RO/DI unit.. NOTHING!). So I'll have to take the thingy and my faucet adapter out to lowes and find an adapter. It's like a $3 adapter but they are darn hard to find with my limited knowledge.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 09:26 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Do you have a water hose? Mine connected right up.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rodi, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inexpensive RODI unit that hooks up to the faucet Dekz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 02-12-2011 08:44 AM
is this a good rodi unit for my reef? divedeep1689 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 03-01-2010 08:40 PM
RODI unit skae310 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 11-15-2009 02:48 PM
Got my ebay RODI jaiden Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 10-17-2004 12:05 PM
RO/DI Unit from Ebay newsalt Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-27-2003 08:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.