Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-21-2011, 09:28 PM   #41
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Yeah but it would be so much more convenient to hook up to the sink. My tank is in the kitchen and I won't have to lug anything!
__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 11:47 PM   #42
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Hillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 151
Just ordered myself one yesterday with a TDS meter as well. Can't wait for it to get here so I can get to work on my 10g while I build up my 55g. It sent today, can't wait! I made sure to get the hose adapter because I know I wouldn't be able to put it anywhere else.
__________________

__________________
Hillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 12:28 AM   #43
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
How much did you give for your TDS meter, hillage?
I figure I should get one, otherwise I won't know when the RO/DI cartridges go bad.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 01:23 AM   #44
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Hillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 151
I can't quite remember, if I had to guess I'm pretty sure it was 18 ish. It is not in-line so the best way to see if you need to change it is to test the water after each section. I guess to do that you'd have to disconnect part of the tubing and get some of the water... The TDS meter I got was from the same seller as the RO/DI unit, but I accidentally got them in separate orders as opposed to the same cart, so they aren't shipped together. Oh well, the TDS meter didn't have a shipping fee.
__________________
Hillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 01:40 AM   #45
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
cool, i'll check it out
i mix my water in a storage bin so one that's not inline will be fine for me

if i use RO/DI water, do I still need to use dechlorinator?
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 02:02 AM   #46
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Hillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 151
I'm not sure. I think you do, but I could be wrong. I was looking at RODI units from The Filter Guys, and an option for their units was a dechlorinator. So I'd guess that yes, you do need to use it, but don't take my word 100%. :/. But me, I'd use it either way lol. Last time I was at the LFS I got a giant jug of dechlorinator for like 20$. Only takes a teaspoon for my water changes, I've barely used anything from it
__________________
Hillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 02:09 AM   #47
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Found this:
http://www.nano-reef.com/forums/inde...post&p=2865735

but it was really the only thing i could find
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 02:22 AM   #48
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Hillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 151
Looks good to me. Theres also this site Do i need to add dechlorinator to store bought RO water? - Saltwaterfish.com Community. It looks like the RO part takes care of it for you. As long as the filters are changed correctly, then i guess you'd be fine.
__________________
Hillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 09:28 AM   #49
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
ohhh i got this adapter



It's the "under sink adapter".
So going to have to figure out how this hooks up.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 09:36 AM   #50
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Yep, that looks like the adapter I didn't get. LOL I wanted total portability so I went with the garden hose. I use it right on my covered screened in back porch so I can watch it. I wasn't paying attention yesterday and ended up with a room full of water.

I'm such a putz sometimes
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rodi, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inexpensive RODI unit that hooks up to the faucet Dekz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 02-12-2011 08:44 AM
is this a good rodi unit for my reef? divedeep1689 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 03-01-2010 08:40 PM
RODI unit skae310 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 11-15-2009 02:48 PM
Got my ebay RODI jaiden Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 10-17-2004 12:05 PM
RO/DI Unit from Ebay newsalt Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-27-2003 08:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.