Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-27-2014, 10:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ThomasG07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 253
Just RO no DI unit

Ok so I ordered the Aquaticlife 3 stage RO unit from amazon. I'm already regretting it and it hasn't even come yet. First off it has no reviews. What an idiot right? Well it has no DI stage and I was wondering what TDS I can achieve with this unit.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
ThomasG07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 05:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
I use just RO and get 4-5ppm. I have a FOWLR and reef, both have been fine. Haven't lost a coral.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 05:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ThomasG07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTodd View Post
I use just RO and get 4-5ppm. I have a FOWLR and reef, both have been fine. Haven't lost a coral.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Ok thank you. Just curious what is your local tap waters TDS?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ThomasG07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 01:42 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ratedm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: New jersey
Posts: 20
interested to see how you like it, I was thinking about ordering the same one
__________________
ratedm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 01:52 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ThomasG07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratedm View Post
interested to see how you like it, I was thinking about ordering the same one
I will definitely let you know. Not sure why I didn't get a 4 stage for 10 bucks more. Hopefully it works out

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ThomasG07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 01:59 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
i got the aquaticlife RO Buddie, RO unit then just bought the DI unit seperate. Super easy hookup and 000TDS
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 02:34 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ratedm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: New jersey
Posts: 20
how long do the cartridges last?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ratedm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 10:44 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasG07 View Post
Ok thank you. Just curious what is your local tap waters TDS?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I just checked and mine from the tap is 166ppm. I just tested a batch of RO last night and it was 3 ppm.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 11:57 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
I bought the same set up you did ended up ordering the di later. I'm a little over a hundred gallon in a my di filter is about half way exhausted based on the color. My tds is 500-600 out of the tap and 30 coming out of the ro so your will probably Last much longer. It is super easy to hook up though.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 12:12 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ThomasG07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 253
Ok so I got the RO unit and it is running right now. The water coming out of it is 40 ppm :/

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
ThomasG07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rodi unit. Di unit qestion Fish-guy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-17-2012 04:12 PM
Just got my RODI unit from ebay! carey General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 75 06-07-2011 06:25 PM
Just purchased a RO/DI unit from filterdirect and..... born2chill Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 02-20-2005 08:16 PM
Just hooked up my RO/DI unit... Q? about drain line guitarded General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 11-10-2004 03:16 AM
Need help picking an RO unit swishyfishies Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 05-11-2003 10:49 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.