Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-11-2006, 01:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maple Park, IL
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to thefishguy
kalk and auto top off

I have a qestion about the kalk reactor. I have a auto topoff that is made by spectra pure. a solenoid shutts off water supply from my ro unit. Could I attach the kalk reactor to the output (pure) water line just befor it goes into the tank. tia
__________________

__________________
thefishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 01:50 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
IMO you should not "dose" anything on autopilot, especially things that can throw off your pH or cause toxic effects. Best to do it manually so you can properly monitor it and let your top-off system operate on its own.
__________________

__________________
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 02:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maple Park, IL
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to thefishguy
that is the problem I don't have time I want to have hard corals but somethimes I am not at my house for 2 or 3 days. I need a automated way of topping of water and adding calcium w/o spending 500+ on co2 reactor
__________________
100 gal tank, 29 gal sump, 100+ pounds of liverock, asm g2 skimmer, MH+PC, auto top off
livestock-
yellow tang, coral beuty, flame angel, lawnmower blenny, and a percula clown. Rose anenome hosting clown, and green moon coral, two green leather corals, 2 konchs,5 hermit crabs, and 10 snails
thefishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 02:29 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Your ca levels shouldn’t change that drastically in 3 days with 100 gal total water volume. Dose on the higher end before leaving ie: 450 ppm ca and I would be shocked if it dropped past 380 ppm in just 3 days. You wouldn’t want to come back after 3+ days and have your ca 500+ with your ph at <7 and dead fish/inverts.

You could try a trial run for a couple of weeks monitoring daily to get the dose right but for long term I wouldn’t risk it personally. To many variables to go wrong.

As said by many people “good things happen slowly with sw and bad things happen quickly” If you don’t have the “time” for hard corals then maybe you shouldn’t get any.
__________________
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
auto, auto top off

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto Top off and Kalk darknessheir Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-20-2009 04:26 AM
Auto Top Off??? happygirl65 DIY Projects 2 02-12-2008 06:32 PM
auto feeder/auto-top off drip? pspiegel Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 12-14-2006 09:33 AM
Who uses auto top off? Todd Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 04-20-2006 01:39 PM
auto top off batfire Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 12-15-2005 11:26 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.