Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-26-2012, 07:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Keep finding fish/loaches in AC110

Anyone else? Mostly my Botia loaches or CAE there alive all the time just swimming around one of two AC110's. Anyway to prevent this?

Happened now about 4 times. Haven't lost a fish just noticed them swimming about.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 08:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
That's your filter, right? Just put a piece of sponge where the intake is, so they can't get up there.
__________________

__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottyhorse View Post
That's your filter, right? Just put a piece of sponge where the intake is, so they can't get up there.
Yeah my filter (aquaclear 110)

It has sponge, poly floss and bio rings and they still somehow get up there. Crazy little guys.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:55 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
smallfry53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Grafton, Ohio
Posts: 307
I believe Scottyhorse is saying to put something like this on your filter tube so the fish can't get in the filter.
__________________
Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.
smallfry53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 11:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Yes I understand that. There not being sucked into the intake. They literally swim or jump into the filter, the top part. My fish are way too big to sucked into the intake.



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1021629074.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	157.6 KB
ID:	139786
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 11:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
smallfry53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Grafton, Ohio
Posts: 307
oic. only thing I can think of is lowering the water level a little bit.
__________________
Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.
smallfry53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 11:16 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by smallfry53 View Post
oic. only thing I can think of is lowering the water level a little bit.
Thanks. I'll give it a try and see if that helps. Maybe my crew is just crazy!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 11:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
smallfry53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Grafton, Ohio
Posts: 307
lol sounds like it.
__________________
Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.
smallfry53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 02:38 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Tippytrampoline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 134
Botia loaches enjoy high current, they come from fast moving streams, and they're also incredibly able jumpers. Maybe the filter gets them hyped up, and they simply dive into the filter! silly gooses
__________________
2.5 gallon nano Snooki Sparkle
29 gallon community Yoyo, J-Wow, Jessica, Snape, Arnold, Nymeria, 6 Gold Neons (all "Goldie")
Tippytrampoline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 02:40 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by smallfry53 View Post
I believe Scottyhorse is saying to put something like this on your filter tube so the fish can't get in the filter.
Hi can you pm me where to get these
__________________

__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
loach, loaches

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.