LED lighting for reef tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jetmech2000

Aquarium Advice Regular
Does anyone have LED lighting On a reef tank? If so, does it work good, do your corals grow, and what type of LED's do you use?

I have been using LEDs on 2 of my tanks for a few months now and am very happy with both color and coral growth. My electric use is also down which is always a good thing.

Limpits Reef said:
I have been using LEDs on 2 of my tanks for a few months now and am very happy with both color and coral growth. My electric use is also down which is always a good thing.

What brand are u using

I watched all your videos on YouTube and they were great and was wandering if you could make a video on your LEDs and the coral growth with them

I'm building my own fixture for my 120 Reef project. Going to have 96 CREE LEDs and will cost at least 1/2 of any fixture out there, if not less, and have more power.

I'm using 4 AI's Sol Super Blue modules on my 120, they are very powerful. The only issue is it is very easy to over power the tank causing bleaching so great care must be taken when using them. And yes when implemented correctly the corals grow nicely.
IMO, it's relatively easy to build an LED but there is more to it than meets the eye. 1st issue is for them to be more efficient you will have to buy optics for the led's, 2nd the amount of wiring (depending on how the fixture is built) going to your various controllers and power supplies will be quite a lot and will not look ascetically pleasing, 3rd you are going to have to install potentiometers to control the intensity for the different controllers and colors and still have to use some sort of timer to just have them turn on and off.