LED selection for FRESHwater aquarium lighting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

artemm

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all!

I am new to led aquarium lighting but i am pretty experienced electronics hobbyist. So, for me is not problem to build a smart and controlled DUY lighting led system.

However, there are question on what leds to choose and how to light them up.

Let's start from the simple one

1) Methods of lighting

There basically two way to light up a led: PWM and constant current. With PWM the leds are brightly pulsed with some frequency. So, if F is 100hz and over it looks like constant light to out eye. If we make pulses shorted (for example, duty cycle of 10% on and 90% off, frequency is the same) the leds look dimmer. It is very easy to control the brightness of the leds this way and easy to do rising and setting sun effects as well as other effects. The constant current is a more sophisticated way. It actually generates constant flow of current through the leds and control the amount of this current. No pulses here.
For PWM i can do about 3-10KHZ frequency without any problems.
Now, the question is what will plants do about it? Is PWM bad for them? Will they react normally for PWM lighting methods or they need constant current way only? Or PWM is okay starting from some frequency and up?
I have not found any answer to these question anywhere. Any scientifically backed up idea from anyone?
Actually, the PWM pulses can delivery a lot higher momentary energy density than the constant current method. So, i don't the the details of the chemistry, but PWM might work worse or better that constant current method.
Anyhow, if no answer here i will just built a constant current driver or buy a chip for it.

2) LED light Spectrum