Let's talk filtration, canopies, lights, and backgrounds

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SCATHED

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey all! I will be setting up a 75 gallon Cichlid tank in the near future and have a few questions.

1. Can you use a canister filter(s) when you have a 3D background like the ones from AquaDecor without having an overflow in your tank?

2. How do you use a canister filter in conjunction with a wooden canopy? Just cut some holes to feed your filter tubes through?

3. What about lights when using a wooden canopy? Does the canopy just sit on top of the tank and you leave the aquarium hood and lights where they are?

4. Does anyone know where to purchase wooden canopies (black)?

I have no experience with wooden canopies on a tank but I love the way they look. Thanks in advance!

I don't use canisters but can't see why they wouldn't work withmost 3d backgrounds?
Not familiar with aqaudecor.
I have wood canopies on 3 of my tanks.
2 of my tanks I have suspended the lights and /or rest them on my versa tops(glass lid).The other I have my lights resting on the rim of canopy which measure the same as tank rim.
I built 2 of mine and one is an All Glass Aquarium(AGA) now owned by aqueon .
All wood canopies I have seen or built are open backed so any filter,wire ...... will work out fine.

Here's one I built for my 180g
99907-albums14345-picture69296.jpg

Hey all! I will be setting up a 75 gallon Cichlid tank in the near future and have a few questions.

1. Can you use a canister filter(s) when you have a 3D background like the ones from AquaDecor without having an overflow in your tank?

2. How do you use a canister filter in conjunction with a wooden canopy? Just cut some holes to feed your filter tubes through?