Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-30-2013, 08:13 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Darkseid76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 625
I had some issue in my tank so I swapped some inserts to maximize mechanical filtration from a heavy gravel vac and to trap medications with new carbon. Otherwise I dont touch my inserts.

Yes you can just rinse inserts from either filter in old tank water.



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1224569072.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	140.7 KB
ID:	163702

This my outflow. I dont clean that either lol, I noticed that after water changes some of fish like to nibble on the film thats growing or collecting or whatever on the outflow lip.
__________________

__________________
Darkseid76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:26 PM   #32
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by reyma10 View Post
Well mine works fine with the water pretty high
Yeah -- that's about the level I keep my 55 at too, so it gets that awesome ripple effect as seen in your pic...

I'm just saying that if the water is kept even HIGHER than that -- to the point you can see the blue bio-grid oxygenator bar on the lip return from looking at the front of the tank -- the filter doesn't even appear to be "pushing" any water; it just looks "stagnant" (though it is, of course, still filtering)...
__________________

__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:27 PM   #33
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkseid76 View Post
I had some issue in my tank so I swapped some inserts to maximize mechanical filtration from a heavy gravel vac and to trap medications with new carbon. Otherwise I dont touch my inserts.

Yes you can just rinse inserts from either filter in old tank water.
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:31 PM   #34
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkseid76 View Post
I had some issue in my tank so I swapped some inserts to maximize mechanical filtration from a heavy gravel vac and to trap medications with new carbon. Otherwise I dont touch my inserts.

Yes you can just rinse inserts from either filter in old tank water.



Attachment 163702

This my outflow. I dont clean that either lol, I noticed that after water changes some of fish like to nibble on the film thats growing or collecting or whatever on the outflow lip.
Indeed -- my flow on the Aqueon is similar, perhaps a bit more "aggressive" in the ripple; as I have been discussing with the member above, these Aqueons are dependent on how high the water level is in terms of "watching their effectiveness" in water return. I have found, conversely, with the AquaClears that THEY seem to "work best" when the tank's level is high so that the return creates a big, aggressive ripple across the surface -- if the water level drops below a certain point, my AquaClear 110 tends to deliver a messy, splashy wave that really beats up the plants that are in its wake...
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:35 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Darkseid76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 625
Yeah the Aquaclear has a steeper drop than the Aqueon. As the water evaporates I get the outflow i prefer but no big deal IMO.
__________________
Darkseid76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:42 PM   #36
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkseid76 View Post
Yeah the Aquaclear has a steeper drop than the Aqueon. As the water evaporates I get the outflow i prefer but no big deal IMO.
You get the outflow you prefer when the water evaporates on the AQUACLEAR or the Aqueon? On my AquaClear, I happen to prefer the water level HIGHER so the "wave drop" isn't so steep, as you put it; when the water level is higher in my tank, the AquaClear tends to deliver a nice, fast ripple wave across the surface that's pleasant to look at...

On the topic, I never really understood these YouTube videos you see, or any other kind of images depicting someone's setup, in which people keep their tanks so low that the filters look like open waterfall cascades pouring into the aquarium; really, really odd to me...
__________________

__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cartridge, hob, media

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.