Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-04-2012, 12:26 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JokerWx13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Flushing, NY
Posts: 330
Question Light Timer help?

I'm planning on getting a timer for my solarmax t5he with 2 bulbs. i was wondering if there was a timer that would

a) turn on one light at one time and then turn on the other at a different time.

b) turn the lights on for 4 hours, go off for 1, then turn on for another 4 hours?

and if they require a switch to turn on the lights, would the timer still work? i really need help to understand how these timers work :/
__________________

__________________
Growing old is inevitable. Growing up is optional :3
JokerWx13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 01:28 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
The most common timers just turn the power to an outlet on and off at specified times. To get more than one "on" and one "off" in a day is likely going to be harder to find. I think there are some programmable digital ones out there that will do that, but they will be significantly more expensive than a basic timer. The cheapest of timers have a rotating dial that is kind of like a 24 hour clock with pegs that slide into place for on and off. I suppose if you really needed the kind of control you're talking about you could buy a couple of the same type to steal the pegs from one to add onto the one you'll be using.

I'm not familiar with the solarmax fixture. If it was just plugged into the wall (no timer), can you turn each bulb on and off independently? If not, the timer can't do it for you either. If you can, does the fixture operate off of only one cord, or does it have two? If it only has one cord, then the timer can't control both lamps independently.

You also asked about if the fixture required a switch to turn the lights on and off, would a timer work? I assume you mean a switch on the fixture. If I understand you correctly, then you would just leave the fixture switch on, plug the fixture into the timer, set the timer as desired, and plug the timer into the wall. If you meant that the outlet was controlled by a wall switch, the you'd have to leave the wall switch in the on position.
__________________

__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 01:54 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JokerWx13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Flushing, NY
Posts: 330
thanks, you cleared a bunch of questions for me! only disappointed that i can't turn each on independently :/ bummer, but that doesn't matter, the uses far outweigh the disadvantages.
__________________
Growing old is inevitable. Growing up is optional :3
JokerWx13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 01:54 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JokerWx13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Flushing, NY
Posts: 330
oh and do you know a good place to get one?
__________________
Growing old is inevitable. Growing up is optional :3
JokerWx13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 03:55 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
A big box store or any hardware store should have a basic timer for around $6.
__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, timers

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Nooobie Here- do I NEED Co2? Nreal Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 03-17-2012 05:18 AM
Pls help Kevinalewis Saltwater & Reef - Identification 10 03-08-2012 08:14 PM
light blubs J19Reynolds Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 03-06-2012 10:48 PM
How much would an mp10 help? CleverBs Saltwater Reef Aquaria 18 03-04-2012 04:27 PM
Help Starting the 25 again Snype2live Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 19 03-04-2012 01:27 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.