Lighting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Imperator160

Aquarium Advice Newbie
First of all, I just joined the forum today. Used to be over at FishForum.com, but those people are hard to deal with. You guys seem loads better.

Secondly, I'm starting a ten gallon reef tank this summer. I know it's small and will probably be difficult but I have some experience with them and I think it will be fun. I think I have an idea of what light I want to buy for it, but I just wanted to see what you guys would recommend. Any suggestions?

Welcome to AA :D Moved the post over to the hardware/equipment forum:

What kind of corals were you interested in i.e. Medium or High light corals?

I'm thinking mostly polyps (stars, gold, etc.), some mushrooms, but I'd like to keep something like an acro or monti in there, so it'll need a good amount of light.

Imperator,

If you are planning on keeping high light corals, like Acros and Montipora you are going to need some Metal Halide lighting. Current USA has the new SunPod out which is basically a standard Metal Halide light (150 watt 14k) with a lot of LED moon lights. Also current has smaller versions of their more powerful Halide/Compact Flo. units though they are more expensive.

You could also look at getting a Nano Cube that has the Metal Halide lighting integrated in with it.

WELCOME TO AA!!

Looks like you got some good advice, I just wanted to welcome you.

15 watts per gallon wouldn't be too much? I'd think that would burn up any mushrooms you have unless they are ricordea and the tank is shallow so placing on the bottom wouldnt help that much imo. They do make 70 watt MH's. Wow I just looked at the price difference between a 70 watt and 150 watt SunPod HQI and its only $20.

Those Dual Satellites are 20'', 2x40watt compact flourescents. That would be 8 watts per gallon- $125