Lighting for a 36 g bow sw reef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jason728123

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi I'm new to the sw and I'm currently turning my 36 g bow into a sw I was wounding if a current orbit led programable light with ramp would be ok for just this tank i would only want beginner corals and leathers and I'm still doing research on what I can have in the tank but if there any suggestion that would be great and also I have no room for a sum but I'm gonna buy a hang on refrag or can I use a breeder tank ? And I have hob aquaon filter and 25 ibs of live rock and 40 ibs live sand I might get more rock later I just don't want a tank full of rock and I also built a hob diy skimmer it works pretty good but all in all if you can help me in anyway that would be great

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Last edited by a moderator:
The Current Orbit SHOULD be ok, especially for beginner corals. I have a DIY setup that is similar and I personally like the programmable features that goes with this setup like the ramp timing. The clouds and lightning feature I have in mine makes for a neat although sometimes distracting feature.

You can use a breeder for a sump if you have the room for it. If you can set one up I would recommend it. The main advantage to a sump is the increased water volume. More water means lower salinity swings with evaporation.

You also need to make sure you have enough flow in the tank. The live rock is your main biological filtration and, with enough flow, you really dont need the HOB filter except to use as a 'water polisher". (That assumes you dont overfeed your tank)