Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-01-2013, 12:25 PM   #1161
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmolavi View Post
If you're handy with electronics, you could try to modify the power input to the lighting to allow for dimming:

LED aquarium lighting with an Arduino based PWM timer : DGK Electronics

Improved Arduino LED lighting code

Or, you could use an Arduino powered servo motor to rotate the knobs automatically (that might be simpler, as it's a basic function in Arduinos to be able to control servos to move by X degrees per activation).
This is good stuff!
__________________

__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:07 PM   #1162
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Tacos377's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 157
Is two dimmable 120 watt taotronics tt-al09 over a 30 inch wide by 24 inches tall 55 gallon tank sufficient light for most corals?
__________________

__________________
Tacos377 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 11:11 PM   #1163
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
You could keep any corals in a 55 with two. Plenty of light acclimate slowly.
__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:24 AM   #1164
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
Real slowly. They can cook a coral. They are brighter than they appear.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 09:50 AM   #1165
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
I'm getting two for my 55 anemone tank
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:11 PM   #1166
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmolavi View Post
If you're handy with electronics, you could try to modify the power input to the lighting to allow for dimming:

LED aquarium lighting with an Arduino based PWM timer : DGK Electronics

Improved Arduino LED lighting code

Or, you could use an Arduino powered servo motor to rotate the knobs automatically (that might be simpler, as it's a basic function in Arduinos to be able to control servos to move by X degrees per activation).
Why would you even need an Arduino? The controller electronically outputs 0-10V. The Dimmer is just a potentiometer that varies voltage...

Wouldn't it just be figuring out what the Taotronics dimmer outputs and mapping that to the controller?
__________________
ketchup318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:26 PM   #1167
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
It's a bit more complicated than that, but yes, you could build a electronic interface. A PCM driver uses the potentiometer to vary the drivers output. But there is no guarantee the voltage across the potentiometer is 0-10 volts. If it is, a simple interface would work fine. These fixtures are also available with electronic drivers that will interface with the reef keeper dimmer modules and others, but not from ebay as far as I can tell.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 08:27 PM   #1168
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
With arduino and the right software the Taotronics can be programmed so that it will turn ON or OFF softly simulating the sunrise and sunset.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 10:24 PM   #1169
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hardridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 410
So I have reef keeper elite and three non-dimmable Taetronics so what what I need or what would I tell the electrician to do to make them programmable
__________________
Hardridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 10:28 PM   #1170
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hardridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 410
I have a reef keeper elete and three non-dimmable tae Tronics what would I need or what what I need to tell the electrician to do to make them programmable
__________________

__________________
Hardridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, lighting, reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.