Lighting your reef... Best bang for your buck.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Hey "Gold Fusion" it only looks like that with a flash or direct light. I've been considering changing it, and now you've made me self-conscious... thanks! By the way the Zoo's have opened, and I picked up a new swimmer :dance:

Attachments

• Zoa 2.jpg
    Zoa 2.jpg
    225.9 KB · Views: 101
  • Clown.jpg
    Clown.jpg
    197.4 KB · Views: 85
So I'm thinking about going for either taotronics or reefbreeders or some sort of low end led. I have a 56 gallon tank that is 24'' tall and 30'' long and 18'' deep. Would 2 dimmable 120W units be enough light to grow lps and sps? Also what ratio of blues to whites is preferred? Thank you I am a coral noob.

So I'm thinking about going for either taotronics or reefbreeders or some sort of low end led. I have a 56 gallon tank that is 24'' tall and 30'' long and 18'' deep. Would 2 dimmable 120W units be enough light to grow lps and sps? Also what ratio of blues to whites is preferred? Thank you I am a coral noob.

I'm not sure, get one see how it does and act accordingly

X is right on the search... There are A LOT of Chinese knock off's or actually TaoTronics is more than likely a Lot Purchase of the Chinese versions with his branding put on them. But the key is to make sure they are the Dimmable TaoTronics. Just copy the search parameters Mr. X has above and paste it in eBay's search box and view the results.

This way you don't get the non-dimmable options at all. Many people are using these lights and have great success with them. X is one of them.

Sorry X for jumping in here but just wanted to +1 your post above.

Cheers Everyone!
Tom