Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-03-2010, 03:37 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Looking for a reef LED light

Let me start by saying hello.

I've been lurking around here for a few weeks reading up and researching for my first set up. My wife has been pestering me for some time for a tank and wanted colorful fish in it. It didn't help that we have Annual passes to our local (The Georgia) aquarium.

I'm new to the hobby and have been slowly aquiring parts for our setup as cash allows.

Thus far I have (or have purchased):

46 gallon Seaclear bowfront acryllic tank
Coralife Super Skimmer (65 gallon)

I have yet to purchase anything else as I'm still researching the rest, but I know I would eventually like to move to a reef tank. I'll be purchasing the light most likely next so I can begin setting up my tank.

I've searched repeatedly on here but have yet to come across a solid review of LED lighting. I'd like a fair price on the lighting - I'm expecting to pay ~$600-$700 for a decent light. If I could find a good one for cheaper for the set up I'm looking at I'd be thrilled.

For those that have LED lights:
1. How much did you pay?
2. Is your setup effective enough to sustain a reef tank?
3. Are you satisfied with your light?
4. Which light do you have and where did you get it?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Old 01-03-2010, 04:03 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

You would be fine with a T5 HO setup. LED fixtures are more aimed towards deep tanks where PC, T5, and VHO lights won't penetrate. Try the Current USA Nova Extreme Pro T5 HO setup, just choose the length that fits your tank and you are good to go and you would save $300-$400 compared to what you are willing to pay for the LED fixture.