Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-23-2017, 12:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
DanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 75
Question Looking for recommendations for 48" programmable LED Strip light

Hi all,

As the title says, I am looking for a LED strip light for my 48" aquarium, freshwater with no plants or low light plants that can be programmed to shut off/light up and specific times etc. I was thiiiiiiiiiiiis close to buying a Fluval Aquasky when I said sort of off-hand "And this works with just a regular timer right?" and I could see the store clerk's face drop like he knew he had just lost a customer. He explained I need a separate unit from Fluval to be able to have it auto shut off/turn on, otherwise I would have to use a remote control each time. Honestly, why would anyone want that kind of limitation, shouldn't that be built in to the light or some kind of auto-on feature so a regular timer can be used?

Anyhow, I looked up reviews on the Fluval timer and it's getting torn to pieces in most review regarding poor reliance and buttons that barely work, if at all.

What are people changing to? Should I just build my own LED hood from IKEA strip lights and go with that? They'll work with a timer if I get the regular white ones. I also don't mind paying for something built specifically for aquariums, just want something that won't break in a month and can be programmed to shut on and off during the day.

Thanks!
Dan
__________________

__________________
DanR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 03:32 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
I have the aqua sky. The clerk is FOS. You don't need Fluvals over priced timer. Mine is on a 3$ timer I bought from a dollar store last year. If you do get the aqua sky, put the remote in a safe place because if you lose it you won't be able to turn it on or off.
__________________

__________________
Tyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 06:41 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,515
You should look at the various Beamswork 48" models. Inexpensive, sleek chassis, timer is separate/optional (pretty sure it can run on a standard timer).
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 08:43 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
DanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyles View Post
I have the aqua sky. The clerk is FOS. You don't need Fluvals over priced timer. Mine is on a 3$ timer I bought from a dollar store last year. If you do get the aqua sky, put the remote in a safe place because if you lose it you won't be able to turn it on or off.
Wtf really? So if you turn on the led strip with the remote, then unplug it and re-plug it in, it turns back on without having turn use the remote again? Ugh I hate stores sometimes...
__________________
DanR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2017, 08:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2
Not sure if you've seen this. I just bought one. Gets here Monday.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00U0HMX1C...ing=UTF8&psc=1
__________________
Craneguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2017, 11:00 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
DanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craneguru View Post
Not sure if you've seen this. I just bought one. Gets here Monday.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00U0HMX1C...ing=UTF8&psc=1
That looks beautiful but the $670 CDN price tag made my wallet scream, run out the front door and steal my truck
__________________

__________________
DanR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led, light, ram

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programmable light for 5.5 gallon tank? Vincent General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-09-2016 09:33 PM
For Sale: DsunY programmable led lighting system Rich440 Archive 0 01-12-2014 12:24 AM
Anyone ever use the dsuny programmable led lights? Rich440 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 11-28-2013 12:45 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.