Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-11-2012, 11:48 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
darkmatter_3500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 300
Low nitrate question

I had a recent experience with abnornal low nitrate readings on my 125 growout tank and was wondering if anyone else had this happen. I work 7 days and I am home for 7 so I always do a 50 percent water change the day I get home and the day I leave, before I did a water change last week I noticed my nitrates were maybe .5 , I even tested 3 times . They are always .20 or higher after my week of work. My ammonia and nitrates were 0 like usual. While doing the waterchange I noticed my fx5 flow was reduced to a trickle from a clogged water polish pad. I run a water polish pad and packed the other trays full of seachem matrix. I also have a xp4, ac 110 and emporer 400 on this tank that were working fine. Could the reduced nitrates be due to such a slow flow in my FX5 and anerobic bacteria in the matrix using up the nitrates?
__________________

__________________
darkmatter_3500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 11:50 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
darkmatter_3500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 300
The reason I was posting this is I am thinking of packing my XP4 full of matrix and reducing the flow to see if it helps eat up nitrates.
__________________

__________________
darkmatter_3500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 02:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
How long has the matrix been in the filter and how much of it do you have?
__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 03:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
darkmatter_3500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 300
I have the top 2 trays full of matrix bottom tray is a polishing pad which clogged thats what reduced flow to a trickle, and it was really barely any water coming out . I changed the pad and flow returned to normal.
__________________
darkmatter_3500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 03:44 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
darkmatter_3500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 300
Also that matrix has been in about 6 months
__________________
darkmatter_3500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 03:54 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
Sure lets say its matrix for now. Check parameters again before next water change. Im testing 20liters of pond matrix right now, so your feedback is great!
__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 04:18 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
darkmatter_3500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 300
Thats cool, I when I get home im filling 3 baskets in my XP4 with matrix and turning the flow down to almost nothing to see what happens, my FX5 is flowing like normal this week so I will see if my nitrates are back up like they usually are. Im going to swap the matrix in my FX5 with the ceramic rings & ehiem balls in my XP4 so I start with cycled material.
__________________
darkmatter_3500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 04:48 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
darkmatter_3500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 300
I dont think matrix is some magic product but if the water flow is reduced enough im assuming anaerobic bacteria can grow in the pores and consume nitrate as advertised. My FX5 reduced flow by accident but my XP4 has a knob that I can manually reduce the output thats why im going to try it this time.
__________________
darkmatter_3500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 11:31 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
Yeah its possible. I thought it was only Denitrate that required slow flow. A Seachem rep told me Pond Matrix is fine in high flow environment.
__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 12:45 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 182
I'm also wondering if the matrix in my two XP filters is the cause of my low nitrate level (I think zero) or if its just my plants doing their thing. I have one basket in my XP2 half way full, two baskets in my XP4 full of matrix but my flow rate is high. I really doubt it though as I've read that denitrification bacteria only grows in water with very low water flow and low oxygen levels.
__________________

__________________
Daxhua is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refugium question ekean45 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 18 03-12-2012 07:28 PM
One more ich question Readingexcalibur Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 13 03-12-2012 06:30 PM
Question for a friend. He needs HELP. Convict2161 Cichlid Discussion 14 03-11-2012 11:34 PM
Bioload / compatibility question Ponch Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 03-11-2012 12:29 PM
Fishless Cycling Question Laser Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 51 03-11-2012 12:33 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.