Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-21-2010, 05:37 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Or you could get a stronger pump. <g>
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 02:44 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
My understanding is that as long as your drains flow more than your return pump, the pump dictates the water flow. In this case the drain flows 1200 gph and the pump flows 850gph so the system would flow 850gph because that's all the water that will be going over the overflow walls. Am I missing something here?
__________________

__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 03:16 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
cjldad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 288
Yeah, don't you just put the return at the water level you want, then fill your sump and start pumping it in?? I kinda figured it was all dependant on the return pump myself..
__________________
cjldad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 06:17 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 294
Interesting point Bigjim, but would it overflow the sump?
__________________
sgc0286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 08:36 PM   #15
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
i was thinking along the same lines as bigjim... if you set the overflow properly, it will only drain to a point. if that point is high enough in the tank so that only as much water will drain from the tank as the sump will hold, then there shouldnt be a problem. thats how sumps work, essentially the sump is just "holding" some of the dt's water and as its fed in to the sump, the pump puts it back in the dt. so if you get your water level the way you want it in your dt, set the overflow so that the slightest amount of water added to the tank will be fed through the overflow. fill up your sump almost to maximum level, then as you pump the water from the sump in to the dt, only that amount of water will be fed back down. at least thats the way i understand them to work
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 11:30 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 140
why not use a sump pump? those can pump water high at great rates
__________________
Turbo V6 Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 12:10 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
I don't believe a house sump pump is rated for continuous duty. You'd burn up the motor.
__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 01:52 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
BigJim is correct. In fact you want to either drill a hole (aprox 1/8"") in the retrun line about 1/4" below the water suface, or if you have flexible returns have them situated close enough to the surface so that should the pump turn off air will enter the return line and break the siphon before the sump floods the floor.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
base, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Sump wherearepeople DIY Projects 6 01-16-2010 06:16 AM
Basement Sump? Ocicat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 10-02-2005 10:34 PM
Plumbing for basement sump ellisz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 02-23-2005 03:05 PM
Need help - moving sump to the basement ellisz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 02-22-2005 03:13 PM
Basement Sump Design sevise Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 11-12-2004 07:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.