Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-29-2011, 11:21 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Metal halides 101 Now what?

Ok, so I picked up a jbj viper 150w metal halide fixture for my 20g rimless last night.

I have to confess U am a total NOOB when it comes to hqi so bear with me as I ask some silly questions.

All I know is it has a 14000k bulb in it and the ballast is extremely heavy, wasn't expecting that! LOL

I have it hooked up now and to be honest I really don't see the blue in the light. The par38 bulbs I was using were alot more blue and alot brighter.

Is it natural for the MH not to look as bright? I moved my corals all to the bottom of the tank just in case, was this the right thing to do?

The fixture takes a double ended bulb so I have been pricing new ones, boy they arent cheap are they? lol

I was thinking a 20k as I really like a blue tank. BUT will a 20k encourage coral growth or is the par of the 20k not as good as say the 14000k?

I was thinking of buying one of the cheapo ebay 20'ks and seeing if the color is ok. I hear ushio is the top of the line but didn't wanna chance it for so much money.

What are the drawbacks to a cheapo hqi bulb? Do they not last as long? I'm fine with that if thats it. Or is the color spectrum so much different for a higher end bulb?

and what can I keep under this light? I wanted a clam and a mini maxi nem maybe at some point.

Any one who can shed some light so to speak on this lighting issue? lol

Thanks everyone for reading and if you have anything to add please don't hesitate!

Old 08-29-2011, 09:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Well I got alot of views on this thread but no answers. :-(

Bueller.....Bueller.....

Old 08-29-2011, 09:42 PM   #3