Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-04-2009, 02:02 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by thincat View Post
I had to add two additional dedicated lines for my reef setup. Better safe then sorry. I only needed one additional line but the same effort to run two. Now I wished I had run three.
I had thought about that. I'd have to go up two stories and then back down two. Or, since the room with the tank is in, is along the garage wall, I could just run conduit up, over and back down.
__________________

__________________
bhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 04:31 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Why do you have to run it both ways? I used romex cable, I ran 12/2 w/ground copper wire w/ a 20a breaker.
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 08:48 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
Check with aquacave, they have it.
__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 01:18 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by thincat View Post
Why do you have to run it both ways? I used romex cable, I ran 12/2 w/ground copper wire w/ a 20a breaker.
I don't have to run it both ways. I was saying one or the other. If I run the conduit, it will be on the outside of the garage wall and would be the easiest way to do it. It's about impracticle to run it in the walls.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thominil View Post
Check with aquacave, they have it.
Yup, found it there and ordered it last night. Grand Total: $1,049.97; ouch!!!
__________________
bhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 01:35 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Do you have double walls? Do you have an attic? They also sell romex trim in lumber form to cover the cable and you just paint it to match the house color or trim color.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 04:59 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
If your going to run Romex you should use 12/3 with a ground this way you will have an additional spare circuit in case you need it. By code two hot legs can share 1 neutral.
__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 06:06 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfernoST View Post
If your going to run Romex you should use 12/3 with a ground this way you will have an additional spare circuit in case you need it. By code two hot legs can share 1 neutral.
Yes, this would work but the 12/3 wire would not run two GFCI. I don't think you can run two circuits with GFCI on two hots and one neutral. I think I will end up running 2 12/2 so I can have two 20 amp circuits, both with GFCI. I will have to check into a two pole breaker; this may be the way to do it.
__________________
bhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 08:46 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
If you used GFCI outlets the instead of the breakers it would work with the 12/3, otherwise then yes you would have to run 2 separate home runs back to the panel. My bad I didn't realize you were planning on using GFCI breakers. With GFCI outlets you can only have one on each circuit but every outlet connected to the load side of each GFCI is protected by that GFCI.
__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 10:57 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 56
No "my bad" needed. I am still in the thinking / planning phase of this. I went and looked at my load panel and it is full up anyways. Darn home builders, not leaving any extra room in there. Guess to do this now, I will have to add a second load panel. Something I have not done before but it's as good of time as any to read up on it. Will just have to figure out how to kill the incomming 240. Think I will have to do that at the meter panel.
__________________
bhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 11:20 PM   #20
Fish R friends, not food!
 
spoonman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
Not to hijack but, have you guys that have MH seen a huge jump in your electric bill? About how much?
__________________

spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, lighting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help lighting! newbie to higher lighting Musket Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 06-18-2006 12:52 AM
PC Lighting v. VHO Lighting mharrison86 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 06-15-2006 09:18 PM
Actinic lighting and Now VHO lighting.. seaham358 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 27 04-03-2006 11:06 PM
what lighting to use for 50 gallon lighting supermarvin76 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 05-15-2005 10:20 PM
What is Actinic (03) lighting, 50/50 lighting, etc? flipz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 05-03-2004 11:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.