moving from undergravel to Aquatech: I NEED HELP!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fish_4_all

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have been working aquariums off and on for more than 22 years and I have only used a filter other than an undergravel once and it was a continual disaster. It has been recommended by many that I get rid of the undergavel for a better planted tank.

How do you set it up and how well do they work? How do you set up a sponge filter and keep it from exchanging too much O2 and CO2 for good plant growth? Does a CO2 injector have the possibility of poisoning the fish? How do you suction the gravel and not uproot the plants or do you have to suction that close to the plants? Do the plants use up nitrates so that they don't build up?

Will a well lighted, CO2 injected tank work as a good breeder tank for my C. trilineatus. It will have caves and hiding places but will the fry and fish get enough air with a CO2 injector running?

SO many questions but I really want to have a planted tank as I feel my fish will be healthier and livelier as well as I should have much better success rearing small fish and breeding with a well planted tank.

Any help would be appreciated as I may have done this for years but when it comes to anything but undergravel I am a rookie to the core.

Only a small amount of co2 actually disolves into the water and the plants use it up. I use a HOB filter and keep the tank full to minimize splash and loss of co2. Sponge filters run by a air pump will cause some loss of co2. As for vacing, once the plants are established you can get close with out damage. You can fan the water neat the base of the plants with your hand and vac what floats up. You can put foam around the strainer of a hob to protect fry. Welcome to AA. :D