Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-20-2010, 02:44 AM   #1
Algae Fighter
 
JustOneMore20's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 3,872
Send a message via MSN to JustOneMore20
Moving my ro/di unit

I moved recently and my ro/di (and tanks for a few more days) are still at my parents' house. I used the saddle valve to install the ro/di and now I'd like to remove it so I can use it at my house. I basically need something to plug the holes i've left in their pipes. I researched before installing the filter that way and found you could remove it...I just can't find where I read about people removing theirs. Has anyone ever removed/moved their ro/di that was installed with the saddle valve?

Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
~Kristin~
2 planted tanks: 40g, 20g ; 38g Reef tank
My links to pics: 40g breeder planted build, 40g breeder planted update, My 38g Reef Build

JustOneMore20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 08:16 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Does this help? No-Sweat Plumbing Repairs | Plumbing | This Old House - 1
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 09:36 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
can't you just screw the valve in and leave it there, and purchase a new one for the new pipe?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 12:49 PM   #4
Algae Fighter
 
JustOneMore20's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 3,872
Send a message via MSN to JustOneMore20
Thanks Ray. I'll read over that link.

Mr X that's a good point. I can just screw the saddle valve in and get a new one. The hole for the waste line was drilled into the PVC pipe so I wonder if I just need to replace that piece. I don't suppose there is any type of putty I could use to plug the hole...lol. I'd hate for it to fail.
__________________
~Kristin~
2 planted tanks: 40g, 20g ; 38g Reef tank
My links to pics: 40g breeder planted build, 40g breeder planted update, My 38g Reef Build

JustOneMore20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
moving, ro/di, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving to my new home and looking for advice for moving tank sliderfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-30-2009 11:30 PM
New but old RO unit! ThrowedToad General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-28-2009 11:33 AM
New RO unit! ThrowedToad New Acquisitions 3 01-23-2009 06:26 PM
RO/DI unit swiftwing7 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 10-13-2004 03:42 AM
ro unit tpaparazzo Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 10-01-2003 10:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.