Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-04-2018, 09:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 11
My canister filter will only run upside down??

Hi

I got a new canister filter (sunsun 3 stage) and it wouldn't prime. Then I tried turning it upside down. Eureka. Turned it back rightside up after a good flow had been established, and flow stops. Also tried laying it on it's side; once it gets beyond a 45 degree angle facing upside down, it stops... Any help would be awesome. Thanks
__________________

__________________
lupinedusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 10:14 PM   #2
Macro Addict
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,808
is the inline pump aimed in the right direction
is the media packed to tight
is there a kink in the line
__________________

__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 10:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 11
right direction? this is my first canister filter, what does that mean?
media is just the floss pads that came with it and a bit of carbon
no kinks
__________________
lupinedusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 10:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Angellove78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Hart,mi.
Posts: 1,649
Are the hoses hooked up right? Might have them backwards. And the hoses shouldn't hang to much below the top of the canister. Is it a out of the box new? Or used?
__________________
Angellove78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 11:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 11
I've triple-checked the hoses via the instructions and youtube videos. And they aren't hanging below the filter; they are curled behind the tank loosely. I considered too much slack, but it's for up to 75 gallons and this is only a 55 gallon, shouldn't it have enough oomph as long as there's suction? Out of the box new
__________________
lupinedusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 11:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TMaier's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,416
There is an in and an out. You need to make sure you have the hoses hooked up right.

Once you do that you have to Prime the canister and get all the air out.

Did you fill it with water before closing it up? That makes it easier to Prime.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Old lady with tanks...
TMaier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 11:42 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TMaier's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,416
To check the direction remove the quick connect. If you can poor water in a hole and it opens thatís the input. If it stays closed then that is the output.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Old lady with tanks...
TMaier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 12:29 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 11
Ok, if direction means input on input valve and output on output, they're labeled, so I've got that right. Plus that's the direction it goes when I turn the canister upside down. It is filled with water now, because like I was saying, I ran it upside down. It does run when the canister is held upside down. I need it to run rightside up
__________________
lupinedusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 12:51 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Angellove78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Hart,mi.
Posts: 1,649
Does it leak at all when it's upside down? Sounds like there's air. You got all the o rings and gaskets on?
__________________
Angellove78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 12:57 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 11
It does leak abit upside down. Not much. Seems to come from one of the latches which I suppose would mean the main gasket all the way around? It's brand new, and all the parts are on it. Only thing left in the box is an extension for a deeper tank. Is there something I should do to the seal?
__________________
lupinedusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 01:27 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Angellove78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Hart,mi.
Posts: 1,649
Take that gasket off lather it in Vaseline and put in back on and go around it with alittle more once you get it back on. Then try it. Make sure the tank has enough water in it. I sure you know that. If you still can't get it. Tip it on its side slowly until it starts flowing. It should. You might have to rock it alittle when it's tipped.
__________________
Angellove78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 01:33 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Angellove78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Hart,mi.
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angellove78 View Post
Take that gasket off lather it in Vaseline and put in back on and go around it with alittle more once you get it back on. Then try it. Make sure the tank has enough water in it. I sure you know that. If you still can't get it. Tip it on its side slowly until it starts flowing. It should. You might have to rock it alittle when it's tipped.
You got it right, just takes a few times. And when you rock it, rock it up and down while it's tipped.
__________________
Angellove78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 08:56 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Mysticalkitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: near palm springs
Posts: 58
I have a sun sun and I had to prime it to work. I had a lot of air in the line so I also had to shake the filter to get the air bubbles out. It helped me to fill up the canister first and I had to really pump the button to get the air out and shake it at the same time 25 mins later it worked.also I had so much hose that I cut it to make it shorter and that really helped me alot.
__________________
Mysticalkitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 09:51 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TMaier's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,416
I filled my canister and the hoses with water. I still had a bit of air in the head and had to tilt it to get the last of it out. That minimized the pumping of the priming button.

The only reason itís working upside down is because the air moved into the body of the canister and the head filled with water.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Old lady with tanks...
TMaier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 12:11 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Mysticalkitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: near palm springs
Posts: 58
I've never had to put water in my hoses once I use the primer button they filled up with water them self. They flow coming out the spray bar was slow at first but once the air got out it worked. Do you have the baskets with the filter set up right. I know when I set ,one up the first time it was hardly working. I saw this viedo on U tube from the pond gerue about the right way to set up a canister and I set it up with the filer at the bottom than the bio balls and a filter pad on top of them the next tray had the bio rings with the charcoal and a filter pad than the last tray had a fine filter on it. My canister filter is working at top speed just tested I cleaned the tank and in shocked how much junk was in it.
__________________
Mysticalkitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 01:40 PM   #16
Macro Addict
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,808
If your looking at your directions you should have 3 hook up options and always be sure the arrows point the right direction on all 3
first one is on intake pump submerged in the tank
second on the intake about 3/4 the way up
third on the output 3/4 way up
see if your smart you would add ball cocks so the canister dont need to be primed every-time you shut it down to clean but they dont tell you that
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ilter.JPG
Views:	83
Size:	45.9 KB
ID:	305988  
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 02:00 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 11
Thanks Everyone

Dummy that I am, I didn't realize the thread had gained a second page, so I didn't see any of those replies til this evening lol... I shortened my hoses, then opened the canister to check the seal and it started filling (it apparently still had alot of air in it afterall) So I let it fill, created a puddle under my aquarium (oops) and latched it again. Now it is running correctly. Thanks
__________________
lupinedusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 05:48 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Mysticalkitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: near palm springs
Posts: 58
Lupinedusk,
Glad that you got it working. When I put mine together I was ready to pull my hair out! And I also shorten the hose too they were to long. At least you did not flood your house like I did my first time filling it I did not know you had to turn off the little vale were the hoses are. Not only did I fill my canister but I flooded the whole room too till I found out what happened.
__________________
Mysticalkitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 09:51 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TMaier's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,416
Good news! Once you get the hang of it itís easy. For maintenance If you shut off the quick connect and leave the hoses submerged. Fill the canister before reattaching the hoses, it primes easy!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Old lady with tanks...
TMaier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 10:03 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Angellove78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Hart,mi.
Posts: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMaier View Post
Good news! Once you get the hang of it itís easy. For maintenance If you shut off the quick connect and leave the hoses submerged. Fill the canister before reattaching the hoses, it primes easy!
Yes, just make sure you keep on eye on your hoses. When they start getting caked up, gonna want to clean them.
__________________

__________________
Angellove78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister, canister filter, filter, psi, upside down

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can filter tubing run up through wall cabinet and then down? Wspanic General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-28-2014 11:32 PM
can you run a salt water tank with just a canister filter? kelly0707 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 24 05-13-2012 03:33 PM
HOB only run at night. ricardo48 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 07-01-2009 04:43 PM
Can I run my canister filter only at night? havefun Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 10-12-2005 01:47 PM
To run or not to run....Protein Skimmer Avi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 07-13-2004 05:58 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.