Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-27-2013, 12:21 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Miyavp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 692
My next filter?

Idk why but I'm always looking forward to buying my next filter, maybe thats because I hate water changes lol. But anyway I was wondering about ro/di aquarium filters? Are there any issues with these? How well do they work? Are they expencive to maintain?
__________________

__________________
Miyavp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Karay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sarnia, ON, Canada
Posts: 646
As far as I understand these filters are connected to either your faucet or directly to your main incoming line. They don't actually filter your aquarium only the water you use for water changes. You could set up an automatic water changer that will draw from a storage tank the ro/di filter will fill
__________________

__________________
Karay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:18 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Miyavp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 692
Yeah? I just saw one for an aquarium and was curious
__________________
Miyavp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:20 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Karay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sarnia, ON, Canada
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miyavp View Post
Yeah? I just saw one for an aquarium and was curious
2 or 3 cylinder looking things?
__________________
Karay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:26 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Miyavp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 692
Yeah exactly
__________________
Miyavp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:35 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Karay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sarnia, ON, Canada
Posts: 646
I have that under my kitchen sink attached to a separate drinking faucet. I have 2 open top tanks that evaporate very quickly and I use that water to top up. It's very neural though and doesn't have needed minerals and nutrients found in tap water. If you use that for full water changes then the tank would need to be supplemented I believe
__________________
Karay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:38 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Miyavp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 692
Seachem makes something for that dont they?
__________________
Miyavp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:39 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
molliwopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Uk, England.
Posts: 2,110
Surely water changes are needed to remove nitrate. I wouldnt of thought a new filter would help. Your ammonia and nitrite levels will stay the same therefore the by product, nitrate will stay the same also.

Unless someone correct me, i may learn something.
__________________
Fish die belly upward and rise to the surface. It's their way of falling.


[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
molliwopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:44 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Karay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sarnia, ON, Canada
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by molliwopp View Post
Surely water changes are needed to remove nitrate. I wouldnt of thought a new filter would help. Your ammonia and nitrite levels will stay the same therefore the by product, nitrate will stay the same also.

Unless someone correct me, i may learn something.
You are correct. Filters don't remove nitrate. Plants do though. I'm not 100% up to speed on this but its said that tanks can be set up where plants and fish sustain each other. But water changes must still be done just for fresh water
__________________
Karay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:49 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Miyavp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 692
Not to say water changes arent necesarry I'm not trying to replace them with some fancy filter but I do belive ro/di filters do remove nitrates.
__________________

__________________
Miyavp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.