Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-24-2006, 06:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
newfound77951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 2,114
My skimmer won't skim!

OK, I just got a Fission Nano-skimmer (by Current) for my 10 gal FOWLR. I set it up according to the directions (it actually came mostly assembled) but it doesn't do anything. The pump runs, but unless I blow into the air intake, no bubbles. Then yesterday I noticed that water was running out of the top of the skimmer, luckily back into the tank!

I've never dealt with a skimmer before, please help, either with general skimmer tricks or any specific advice on this skimmer.
__________________

__________________
newfound77951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 10:05 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
There is no tube with an adjustable flow for the air intake?
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 02:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
newfound77951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 2,114
There is a tube coming out of the bottom of the pump for air intake, although I don't think it's adjustable. If I blow into the tube (or even put a little positive pressure) it produces bubbles.
__________________
newfound77951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 08:19 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
I'll try to take a pic of mine tonight and send it to you tomorrow to see if that helps.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 02:18 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
it sounds like its not getting any air into it to creating the foam fractionation needed to skim.

make sure the hose isn't kinked, and that where it connects, there isn't any plastic left over from the molding process that didn't get cleaned off properly.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 09:00 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Almost forgot. HTH.

See the tube. It's got the adjustable thingy on it for the air/bubbles.
__________________
austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 11:21 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
austindad,

this is what his looks like


it looks like all you get is a straight airline into a venturi hole. that power head looks like one on a DIY CO2 reactor someone gave me, and if it is the same, it won't have much suction power to really pull air through.
the CO2 reactor worked because CO2 was being pushed thru the airline, and then grabbed by the impeller.

all I can think of is to try adjusting how much airline is pushed into the pump to see if that helps it pull air in.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 11:37 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
You know, I just went along telling myself they had a bak pak. When all else fails, maybe I'll just look at the original thread again.
__________________
austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 05:44 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
newfound77951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 2,114
Thanks guys, I'll fool around with it and see if I can get it to work. Maybe if I hooked up a small air pump to it? Can you overpressurize these things?

I was hoping someone who actually had one of these would chime in...maybe time for a new post along that idea.
__________________

__________________
newfound77951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wet skim vs. Dry skim...what's your preference? Devilishturtles Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 01-16-2007 05:54 PM
to skim or not to skim that is the question elke General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 06-17-2005 06:43 PM
to skim or not to skim bschnuck Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 06-18-2004 09:05 AM
To skim or not to skim! Joshsmit56001 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 12-17-2003 09:38 AM
To Skim or not to Skim nugrad2005 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 05-21-2003 10:48 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.