Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-26-2010, 08:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
Need a new sump, with tight restrictions...

So my new stand only has 9inches of width inside the stand =(. Unless i set my sump next to my tank, any suggestions on what i can use? I'm not very handy so building one is probably out of the question
__________________

__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 02:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
Pictures?
__________________

__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 03:03 PM   #3
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
how long is the stand?

How much are you willing to spend? You could have a custom job done.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 03:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
Stand is same length as the tank, 48inches. Here is the pic of it:






Right now you can see my rubbermaid bin to the left of the tank with my sump in it.


Here is the inside. The middle support beams are causing some issues with width. There is only a 9inch clearance between them.




As far as money goes, I guess on how much you think its going to cost. Probably no more then $150/200 for maybe a 2-3 chamber custom made sump.
__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 03:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
cost is according to who does it.. you could build one yourself out of acrylic for around a 100?
__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 04:03 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
I dont have any tools at all that I could use to cut the acrylic. I'm sure it wouldnt be that hard. However now that i'm thinking about it, wouldnt I have to use 2 sumps, but connect them both? Unless the entire sump is 9inches long, I wont be able to squeeze it in there.

Edit: I think im better off just keeping my sump on the side. Lets say the dimensions of my sump would be 24x9x15 it would only be a 14gal sump.
__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 04:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
you could use one sump, itd just take some work gettin it in there. you could do your sump 36 long 9 wide and 18 tall.. thatd be 25 gallons
__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 05:05 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
I think I'd try using a pair of ten gallon tanks to make a twin chambered sump.
__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 06:11 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
have a look at my setup,i have 2 sumps because I couldn't make 1 compartment from 2,easily done.
sump 1,skimmer,bio balls,heater,return pump
sump 2 live sand and chaeto.
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 02:33 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by David S View Post
have a look at my setup,i have 2 sumps because I couldn't make 1 compartment from 2,easily done.
sump 1,skimmer,bio balls,heater,return pump
sump 2 live sand and chaeto.
you got any pics of it? i dont seem them in your profile
__________________

__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This could be a tight fit melosu58 Show Off/Photography 12 09-12-2008 11:29 AM
Coral Restrictions from Lighting Shinok Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 09-14-2006 06:09 PM
In a tight spot- neglected fish DepotFish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 01-19-2006 12:04 PM
How 'tight' should I get glass baffles cut to fit diy sump? 20 20 DIY Projects 4 10-03-2005 09:45 AM
Dog-poo & Trash pick-up restrictions!?! Melody Aquaria Off-Topic 23 02-28-2005 11:10 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.