Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
View Poll Results: What is your opinion?
My goodness, Todd, you are an absolute genius! 4 80.00%
You idiot, thats never gonna work. 0 0%
You need to stop making stupid polls. 1 20.00%
Voters: 5. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-10-2006, 07:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Glendale->Los Angeles->California
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to klubvibez
NEED EVERYONE's ADVICE, for an auto-top off for my reef tank

Let me start off by saying i got a new tank, 125 Gallon with a 50 gallon sump, protein skimmer, U'V sterilizer, built in over flows, cabinets doorts on the sides blah blah, its good for a reef however, im having major issues with water evaporation. This is what it looks like at home.



We got the tank, a cabinet full of dishes and cups and the refridgerator next to them. Since there's water access in the back of the fridge, i plan to install a R/O system in the bottomn shelf of the cabinet, taking water from the faucet in the wall in the back of the fridge. Then i plan on routing the clean R/O water output through the cabinet wall , through the back of the aquarium cabinet into my sump. Now my question..........

What kind of an auto top of system would you guys recommend? I looked online but couldn't find anything that pleases me. Any suggestions? Do you think my idea will work with all the routing and everything?

__________________

__________________
klubvibez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 12:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 280
Where are you going to drain the waste water from the ro/di unit?

I do not have an auto top off but would like one. I am sure it can be done.

Good Luck,
Brian
__________________

__________________
Good Luck,
Brian
Macrosill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 01:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
ya, that will almost work!

What ya gotta do is keep the the RO unit close to the sink to drain the waste water as Macrosill mentioned. Then just run the 1/4" tubing any way you can to the sump. KENT sells a float valve which you put on the end of the tubing. Drill a whole through your sump to install the float switch at the desired level and voila!!

Float valve: http://www.jlaquatics.com/phpstore/s...ID=ro-kpfvalve

The only hitch is that your RO unit must have a auto shut-off valve (solenoid) on it for this to work otherwise you'll always be putting water through your RO membrane and it will be directed to the waste water side and wear out your RO membrane.

Ryan
__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 08:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Glendale->Los Angeles->California
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to klubvibez
what waste water?

what waste water, i thought an R/O system was basically just a filter. We have one under the kitchen sink, i didn't realize there's a drain.
__________________
120 Gallon Tank undergoing restoration process
klubvibez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 03:20 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
You might have a whole house filter or some such under the sink instead of a RO unit. If it is a RO unit then there is a waste water line to the sink drain. RO units waste 3-4 gallons of water for every gallon of RO they make.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 03:29 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Baltimore, Md
Posts: 135
Amen...I just installed mine and the waste water amount was pretty surprising
__________________
davebailey46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 05:18 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Illinois USA
Posts: 157
It shocked me too. This summer I plan on rounting the waste out side to the flowers.
__________________
55gallons, emperor 400 hang on filter, 150watts heater, Coralife 256watt light, 60 LB Live Sand, 43 LB Live Rock, ProClear Aquatics Pro 150 Wet/Dry Filter with Skimmer, 12 Blue Leg Hermit Crab, 2 Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp , 1 Algae Blenny, 3 Green chromis, 3 Peppermint Shrimp, 4 Scarlet Reef Hermit Crab, 3 Emerald Mithrax Crab, 1 Porcelain Anemone Crab, 1 Feather Duster, True Bulb Anemone, 3 Ocellaris Clownfish, 15 Margarita
Snails, 2 Nudibranch, 6 Astraea, 5 cerith snails and 1 Japanese Pistol Shrimp. Updated 02/02/06
Choas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 01:46 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 697
klubvibez, i'm actually working on a similar system for my setup. I'm going to get some extra tubing for my RO unit which sits under the sink. I'm going to route the extra tubing from the RO unit under the sink....to the sump which sits approx. 10 feet away. I've only got an 18g sump so i still have more room under the stand for another container. I plan on using this free space under the stand to put in a container for auto top offs...complete with a direct line from the RO unit for fresh water, a powerhead to keep the water moving, and a top off system.

I'm guessing you want to do this for the same reasons i want to...to bypass carrying water all over the house everyday and also having to be home at least once every couple of days to add water. Also, extra space in my home is scarce. So having an extra bin jammed into the pantry to hold my daily top off RO water takes up a lot of space that could be used for a lot of other things. By putting the daily top off water under the stand, i'm making better use of the space i have.

My plan is to have at least a week and half's worth of water in this container so all's anyone will have to do for me is come in and feed the fish.

The only part i haven't figured out yet is the auto top off part. I don't know how i'm going to get the water from the container to the sump. I know there's lots of ways to do this...i just haven't decided how i'm going to do that part. Once i figure that out...i'll probably do it. I've already made room for this project under the stand so now i just need to put it together.
__________________
75g reef
zenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 09:42 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to robertfah
Sounds like a great idea. You can get an auto-top-off float for your sump AND you can get a switch for your RO unit which shuts off the water going to the RO unit once the desired level is met. My LFS sells them for about $50 bucks and I think they are well worth the investment. My RO unit only makes 50gpd so I'm affraid to leave it on for 8 hours while I'm at work. Once I get some spare $$$, that will be on my list for sure.

I think it's a good idea and I'd love to see the plans/pics once it's done.
__________________
90g Reef
robertfah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 04:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 930
Send a message via AIM to DragonForce
I just set a 5g jug on RO/DI water ontop of my hood and drip water. It is safe, costs nothing, and keeps salinity constant at all times.
__________________

__________________
37 gal all glass
50lb LR
3' fine sand bed 1x Orange Stripe Prawn shrimp goby, 1x sixline wrassemated pair of true percula clowns, 1x CBS shrimp, 2x peppermint shrimp, 1x pistol shrimp, 1x tiger tale cuke, ~20+ snails, ~10+ hermits, 1xserpent star.
green Bubble coral, hammer coral (8 heads!) ,various Zoos,green finger leather, green star polpys ,shrooms
175w 10k MH
28w actinic 03
2x maxi jett 1200
Prizm skimmer (modded)
Hagen powerfilter(for running carbon 24/7)
nano arctica chiller
DragonForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
auto, reef, reef tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto Top Off??? happygirl65 DIY Projects 2 02-12-2008 06:32 PM
auto feeder/auto-top off drip? pspiegel Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 12-14-2006 09:33 AM
Who uses auto top off? Todd Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 04-20-2006 01:39 PM
auto top off batfire Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 12-15-2005 11:26 AM
Auto Top-Off got bait? General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-12-2004 01:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.