Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-15-2006, 11:21 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Need Filtration For 265 gal...

I am setting up a 265 gal and have no filtration yet. Right now I am leaning towards a sump but have very little knowledge about them or wet/dry filters. From what I understand, if you use an overflow box, you don't have to drill your tank ( ), but how does one decide how big an overflow you need? Also, for a freshwater sump, you only need a tank, heaters, a pump, and your filter, right? Where does the carbon come into play, and does the sump tank need "dividers" in it with no refugium?

i know it's alot of questions and i read the forums about sumps but still have many Q's....

To better inform, i have a 3 ft long arrowana that is 7 years old. She lives with a 2 foot clown knife, a 1 1/2 ft marble pim, and a 1 1/2 foot fire eel. i have just ran back filters on their tank (125) but want to move up to a sump on the 265....thanks for all your help!


Or would it be easier to buy this and can it work for freshwater?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...%3AUS%3A1&rd=1


as i am sure i can build one cheaper than this...but it is really nice, and maintenance free (almost)!
__________________

__________________
blugrassboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 11:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Wizzard~Of~Ozz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,039
Send a message via MSN to Wizzard~Of~Ozz
Perhaps a fluidized bed would be a good idea? it can provide biological filtration for 300Gal and is quite compact. Pentair Aquatics has 3 different sizes, all of which are maintenance free. Even with a sump it could prove useful. just make sure you have a UPS on the water pump for it.

Yes, you could build a sump far cheaper then that link if you are so inclined, there are instructions in the DIY forum.

Also, the skimmer is useless AFAIK on a FW setup, not enough surface tension

Welcome to AA btw
__________________

__________________
120 Gal SW, 150lbs Prem. Fiji, 23Gal Sump, 2x250w 15K MH, 4x65w Actinic
3 x Halichoeres Chrysus (1 surfed), 3 x Nemateleotris magnifica, 1 x Centropyge bicolor, 11 x Scarlet Hermits, 6 x Zebra Hermits, 40 x Astrea Snails, 6 x Nassarius Snails, 3 x Cerith Snails
Wizzard~Of~Ozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 12:53 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
thanks for the info, but what's a fluidized bed? do you have a link? but i will research too, and what's a UPS for the water pump? also, how do you keep the sump from overflowing and will it overflow if the power goes out? thanks again!!

and what about the size of your overflow box, any takers??????
__________________
blugrassboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 01:38 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 924
Send a message via AIM to Andos99
The new Fluval FX5 cycles 900 GPH. You could try one of those with a solid HOB as back up. By the way....what do you feed a 3 foot arrowana? Mice?
__________________
If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when are you going to have time to do it over.
Andos99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 02:08 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
I would go for 2 XP3's myself.
__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 02:35 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 924
Send a message via AIM to Andos99
With a tank that big and fish that big I would say go with 2 XP3's AND the biggest HOB you can find if you go the Rena Filstar route. I just bought an XP3 about a week ago and so far I'm diggin it.
__________________
If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when are you going to have time to do it over.
Andos99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 07:46 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Wizzard~Of~Ozz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,039
Send a message via MSN to Wizzard~Of~Ozz
Quote:
Originally Posted by blugrassboy
thanks for the info, but what's a fluidized bed? do you have a link? but i will research too, and what's a UPS for the water pump? also, how do you keep the sump from overflowing and will it overflow if the power goes out? thanks again!!

and what about the size of your overflow box, any takers??????
a fluidized bed is sand that is held in suspension by water. the water is trying to push the sand out the top, gravity pulls the sand back down. the sand constantly bumps into itself, cleaning itself.

(no affiliation with this store, you may find it cheaper elsewhere)
http://www.aquatichouse.com/FILTRATI...es/Rainbow.asp

the largest is rated for 900Gallons, the smallest is 300Gallons.

the overflow box will only drain the tank until the water reaches it's brim, then the water can't get into the box. The return pump's job is to keep trying to overflow the tank (and hopefully never suceeds if the overflow box can handle a higher rate).

a UPS is an "Uninteruptable Power Supply", it's used for computers for brownouts and small blackouts to keep the power constant. it has a battery and is available in different sizes.
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...c.asp?CatId=20

To prevent the sump from overflowing you allow enough space for the plumbing to drain back to the sump (so leave 1-2" of the sump not full) You can do this easily by filling the sump, then turning on the pump. then mark a line where the water level ends up. that is your "full" point, going above that will result in a mess if the pump fails or power is out without a UPS or for an extended period of time.

With fish that are this messy (and shear size), I think you are taking the right approach. Use floss in the sump, you can also plant it and keep the levels down quite a bit (esp. if you pick the right plants)
__________________
120 Gal SW, 150lbs Prem. Fiji, 23Gal Sump, 2x250w 15K MH, 4x65w Actinic
3 x Halichoeres Chrysus (1 surfed), 3 x Nemateleotris magnifica, 1 x Centropyge bicolor, 11 x Scarlet Hermits, 6 x Zebra Hermits, 40 x Astrea Snails, 6 x Nassarius Snails, 3 x Cerith Snails
Wizzard~Of~Ozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 02:03 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizzard~Of~Ozz
Quote:
Originally Posted by blugrassboy
thanks for the info, but what's a fluidized bed? do you have a link? but i will research too, and what's a UPS for the water pump? also, how do you keep the sump from overflowing and will it overflow if the power goes out? thanks again!!

and what about the size of your overflow box, any takers??????
a fluidized bed is sand that is held in suspension by water. the water is trying to push the sand out the top, gravity pulls the sand back down. the sand constantly bumps into itself, cleaning itself.

(no affiliation with this store, you may find it cheaper elsewhere)
http://www.aquatichouse.com/FILTRATI...es/Rainbow.asp

the largest is rated for 900Gallons, the smallest is 300Gallons.

the overflow box will only drain the tank until the water reaches it's brim, then the water can't get into the box. The return pump's job is to keep trying to overflow the tank (and hopefully never suceeds if the overflow box can handle a higher rate).

a UPS is an "Uninteruptable Power Supply", it's used for computers for brownouts and small blackouts to keep the power constant. it has a battery and is available in different sizes.
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...c.asp?CatId=20

To prevent the sump from overflowing you allow enough space for the plumbing to drain back to the sump (so leave 1-2" of the sump not full) You can do this easily by filling the sump, then turning on the pump. then mark a line where the water level ends up. that is your "full" point, going above that will result in a mess if the pump fails or power is out without a UPS or for an extended period of time.

With fish that are this messy (and shear size), I think you are taking the right approach. Use floss in the sump, you can also plant it and keep the levels down quite a bit (esp. if you pick the right plants)


thanks for the replies guys!! okay, more Q's...
what's "floss" in the sump? I take it it's like a refugium but for freshwater??? with a fluidized bed, is that ALL i need? i kinda like the sump idea to hide my heaters and other stuff...or are you suggesting a fluidized bed WITH a sump? thanks for all your time, i am learning so much!!!





To Andos;


i had bad luck with fluvals in the past...so not a big fan unless they have changed...she mostly eats krill, mice, raw meat, raw shrimp, etc...she LOVES madagascar cockroaches!!


and what's an xp3????


and no one said if the item on ebay would work for freshwater (i dont think).....i dont really have the money for that sump, but i WILL spend it for my arrowana if this is close to the best filtration for her....so if this works, hey, why not? Also, i heard skimmers are bad for freshwater, is this true? thanks again guys!!!
__________________
blugrassboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 03:45 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 924
Send a message via AIM to Andos99
I can't answer all your first questions, but an XP3 is a canister filter made my Rena Filstar. XP3 is the model.....it filters 350 GHP and will supposedly work on tanks up to 175 gal but that isn't really feasible. You would need two for a tank that size.

As far as I know.....skimmers are not necessarily bad for freshwater, they just aren't generally needed.

I would love to see a pic of your arrowana if you have one! Please post!
__________________
If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when are you going to have time to do it over.
Andos99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 03:57 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
Here's a link for the XP3.

http://www.bigalsonline.com/catalog/...d1=2885;pcid2=
__________________

__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got a new 265 gal tank. What filters? Mike Koepp General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 02-03-2008 03:09 PM
Filtration for 2.5 gal? Gordinho80 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-25-2006 07:01 PM
38 gal filtration jevousdeteste General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 06-18-2005 07:13 PM
best filtration for 90 gal reef katz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 02-06-2005 05:42 PM
Filtration for divided 15 gal QTOFFER General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-13-2004 09:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.