Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-18-2005, 04:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Barboursville WV
Posts: 317
Send a message via AIM to AR15 guy
Need help setting up my 29g for QT

I am thinking about setting up a 29 gallon I have lieing around for a water storage/QT tank.

I would like to set it up cheaply. I first planned on just keeping water in it so I would have a supply for water changes for the 10 and 38 gallon I have setup.

I have a aquaclear 300 filter and a tronic heater for it. I didn't plan to add any rock or anything to it. What kind of substrate would I need to effectively be able to house 1 or 2 small fish at a time while in QT? Would crushed coral suffice? That is all I have in my 38 gallon but I plan on adding rock to it before I add fish.

The 10 gallon has 20lbs of live sand and 2 lbs of rock.

Just wanted your opinions on what I should do for this tank. Thanks.

Also what is a good website to order lighting products from? I wanted to get some decent light setups to keep my liverock I will have looking good.
__________________

__________________
AR15 guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 04:41 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Quote:
What kind of substrate would I need to effectively be able to house 1 or 2 small fish at a time while in QT?
Actually bare bottom is the way to got. You can get some PVC elbows for the fish to hide in. The reason for not wanting any substrate is because of you need to treat with any meds, the substrate would absorb some of the med and effect your dosage, plus its easier to siphon the tank without substrate.
As for the lights, check out some of the site sponsors.
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/sponsorbanners.php
NO is actually good enough for LR . FWIW
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 05:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Barboursville WV
Posts: 317
Send a message via AIM to AR15 guy
I was talking to a guy at a local store and he was telling me my LR would turn into ugly baserock without good lighting.

On my 38 I have normal 38 gallon hood and a 29 gallon hood on it. The longer bulb is a reptile sunlight bulb...I may have to change that.

In the QT tank do I need anything for biological filtration?
__________________
38 gal SW, CC, 40lbs base rock, 5lbs live, emporer 280, bio-wheel 330,tronic heater, 2 O. clowns, 1 firefish.

29 gal FW, boring...soon to be salt I think.

10 gal SW, 20lbs LS, 20lbs base rock, 1 unhappy domino damsel (he was in the 38...switched the percs and the damesel recently).
AR15 guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 05:22 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Quote:
I was talking to a guy at a local store and he was telling me my LR would turn into ugly baserock without good lighting
Naa, mine looks real nice with NO. You can upgrade if you want faster coraline growth, that up to you.

Quote:
In the QT tank do I need anything for biological filtration?
Just place a small aquarium safe sponge in the filter of your main for a week or two. Then place the sponge in the filter of your qt tank. It will seed with the bacteria from your main and kick up a biological filter in your qt tank. Just make sure if there are not any animals in it that you "feed" the filter with a little fish food once or twice a week to keep the bacteria alive.
HTH
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 06:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Barboursville WV
Posts: 317
Send a message via AIM to AR15 guy
Thanks man.

Good information. I have a bunch of those sponges for the aqauclear filter that should work great.

This should be very easy to do. While no fish are in it I will just use water from it to do what changes on my other tanks. Works out fairly well.
__________________
38 gal SW, CC, 40lbs base rock, 5lbs live, emporer 280, bio-wheel 330,tronic heater, 2 O. clowns, 1 firefish.

29 gal FW, boring...soon to be salt I think.

10 gal SW, 20lbs LS, 20lbs base rock, 1 unhappy domino damsel (he was in the 38...switched the percs and the damesel recently).
AR15 guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 06:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Cool beans!!
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
29 gallon, setting up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
29G lighting couch.jeff Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 02-04-2009 09:16 PM
29G In the WorKs! mannyfern09 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 20 01-19-2009 12:39 AM
Setting up new 29G using established 10G rohitp78 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 12-07-2005 01:44 PM
New 29g. Few Questions FMJnaX Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 04-29-2005 11:38 PM
130W enough for a 29G? nam2212 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 11-15-2004 11:09 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.