Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-13-2013, 11:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Near Chicago, IN
Posts: 4,856
Need help setting up sponge filter-don't read Chinese

So I ordered 6 brand new sponge filters off ebay. The instructions are in Chinese! I have never used a sponge filter. What do I do with it? I have lots of air pumps, do I need airstones? I know I must sound dumb but I am not mechanically inclined. HELP!

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20130213-00609.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	186.0 KB
ID:	152001  
__________________

__________________

Brenna
brennae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:17 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Karay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sarnia, ON, Canada
Posts: 646
You don't have to use the lift tube (the clear tube out the top). Pull it off and just at the top there a spot to slide your air hose on. If you do want to use the lift tube slide over the hose first then connect the hose to the filter then sled the lift tube back in place.
__________________

__________________
Karay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:20 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Karay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sarnia, ON, Canada
Posts: 646
You don't need an air stone either. Here's mine in action.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2129680078.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	136.1 KB
ID:	152033  
__________________
Karay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:23 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Near Chicago, IN
Posts: 4,856
ok so I just connect the airline tubing and go straight to the pump or should I use a gangvalve?
__________________

Brenna
brennae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:25 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Karay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sarnia, ON, Canada
Posts: 646
I would recommend using a valve. Don't know if your raising fry but if so then you'll need to slow the flow.
__________________
Karay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:27 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Near Chicago, IN
Posts: 4,856
I hope I will be raising fry . Got to get my stuff together before I make that attempt though. Thanks so much for the help, I really appreciate it!!
__________________

__________________

Brenna
brennae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chi, filter, setting up, sponge, sponge filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.