Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-20-2009, 07:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Need help with canister

I set up a Penn-Plax Cascade Canister1200 it is working but then it just shoots out a spray of water as if it has been cloged. i have tried different things but it still does the same thing. it looks like there is snow in my tank. anyone have any idea?

from reading other post i see that it is spewing microbubbles into the tank
__________________

__________________
ltrivas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 08:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Blueiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 768
You need to prime the canister. Im not sure how to go about this with that particular brand, it should tell you how to in the instruction book. A general rule I do use, however, is to make sure I have put as much water in the cannister part as I can without it overlflowing when I put the lid on, this helps me to get mine primed by removing most of the air space in the cannister.
__________________

__________________
Blueiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 08:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
i have done that but no luck.
__________________
ltrivas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 09:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Blueiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 768
Does it have a primer button on it?
__________________
Blueiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 09:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
shake it gently... i sometimes have to lean my canisters a bit so that the air will "float" up to the highest part of the canister where the intake is... generally gets it all out real easy.. if you have done that, you may want to loook for a leak in the intake line or seal on the canister. it may be sucking air
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 09:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Yes Ma'am
__________________
ltrivas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 09:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Blueiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 768
I searched on the internet a bit for information, here is about all I could find that was worth anything :

Quote:
Setting up was straight forward with the included directions and we had it ready to go in about 20 minutes. Once you have it hooked up, but before you plug it in, you need to prime the canister by pushing the primer button a few times. Water will flow from the aquarium into the canister. Once it sounded like the canister had filled with water (took about 30 seconds) we plugged it in. At first there were some noticeable air noises coming from the filter but they quickly subsided once all of the air was pushed out of the filter. After a minute or so we could barely hear anything coming from the filter. It is extremely quiet.
That came from here
__________________
Blueiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 09:26 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
thanks for the info i will try it again
__________________
ltrivas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 09:27 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 297
Another thing you could try if all else fails if you are not too squeemish is hook everything up but don't plug in the canister, and then gently suck on the output tube. After a little bit you will create a siphon from the intake tube into the canister filter, fill the filter, and water will start being sucked up the output tube. Plug in the filter and it should be running no problem. Oh make sure you put the output back into the tank before you plug in the filter or else be prepared to get wet!
__________________
th08tu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 09:28 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Blueiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 768
One other thing, is both your intake and output tubes underwater? If not this can cause priming probs.
__________________

__________________
Blueiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which canister do you think I should go with? Andos99 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 02-28-2006 04:36 AM
Canister for SW? General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 06-25-2005 10:43 AM
What do you keep in your Canister? KaiserFish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 02-14-2005 06:40 PM
Via Aqua Canister vs Fluval Canister Filter? TygGer General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 09-19-2004 02:09 AM
looking for canister justDIY Archive 9 12-28-2003 01:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.