Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-24-2009, 09:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
Need help with ro unit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I got a 5 stage chloramines plus ro/di unit from bulkreefsupply. the instructions were minimal and i finally got to flushing out the membrane. I've had it running for about 20 min and it is making more waste than usable water. Is this normal when it is started for the first time or is something wrong. Washed the carbon filter out and got no dust.
__________________

__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 11:36 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charlton, MA
Posts: 544
Thats what happens unfortunately. You loose 3-5 gallons to every 1 gallon of pure water you make.
__________________

__________________
AMDPhenomX4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 11:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 3,287
I got a pump to go with mine so that the water goes through an extra cycle through the filters instead of flushing it right down the drain. It is noisy but it works a lot better. On bulkreef they have this 150 GPD Water Saving Upgrade Kit - English
__________________
joy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 11:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
oh ok it seemed to level out after running for an hour thanks for the info
__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 07:34 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
I run my waste water into my washing machine and use that water for washing my cloths. A five stage unit has a high rate of rejection.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 11:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
did not think of doing that, great idea recoup some losses
__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 11:24 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
did not think of doing that, great idea recoup some losses. You folks do not know how much I appreciate the advice you've given me
__________________

__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro unit, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ro/di unit vsnsofadrgn Archive 4 01-23-2007 12:33 PM
ro/di unit scrmom Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-19-2006 02:17 PM
RO/DI unit??? weekf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-15-2006 05:40 PM
RO unit DI ?? OceanMist Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 09-07-2006 08:25 PM
I have an RO unit. Do I really need a DI ? Dr.Nate General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-15-2005 11:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.