Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-04-2014, 04:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ian14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 357
Need some help with my overflow

I got a 265 gallon tank with a 90 gallon some on craigslist. It has four holes drilled across the bottom so I planned on having two overflow and two for returns.

After going around finding different connections and pipes that would work I hooked up the two overflow, put the pump in the sump and just put the hose over top and into the tank because the returns weren't set up yet. Turns out my two overflows can't even keep up with my 1200 gph pump. The threaded bulkhead fits a male 1 inch pipe. There are two elbows for each overflow line and they fit the threaded 1 inch pipe. It gets pretty tight inside the elbows probably not even an inch inside diameter.

I was going to get an adapter to screw in the bulkhead in the tank to allow me to put on a 1.25 or 1.5 inch pipe for the actual overflow inside the tank. The width inside the bulkhead is just about an inch, so even if I find adapters that fit and make the pipes and elbows bigger would it really help that much since the the bulkhead is still cutting it down to one inch

What I plan on doing is just to hook up another overflow. Does anyone have any suggestions towards increasing my flow?

I will put up pictures in a moment
__________________

__________________
Ian14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 05:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ian14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 357
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1393968302.912340.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	210.1 KB
ID:	225944Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1393968315.842631.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	175.3 KB
ID:	225945Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1393968339.005170.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	196.1 KB
ID:	225946Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1393968353.923131.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	181.8 KB
ID:	225947

Any help would be greatly appreciated
__________________

__________________
Ian14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 06:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Matt68005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,730
Wow ian, thats alot of water and alot of work. It sounds like a huge overkill. Anyways you can get a smaller pump? Are you returning this water or just dumping it? Might be more water concious as well. 1200 gallons per hour is ALOT of water to just dump down the drain, if your running thru filter and returing it id say no problem. I just dont want you to get a 200 dollar water bill next month. Why don't you just get a smaller pump and setup a homemade filter box, with carbon and floss and sand and bio spoonges, and return the water. No fish needs that clean of water. lol
__________________
Matt68005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 09:22 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ian14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 357
Im running it through the sump and pumping it back in the tank

Sent from my XT1080 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ian14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 03:04 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
threnjen's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,611
I also have a tank with a sump (although my top tank is the 90 lol). If I were looking to increase the capacity up top I would replace the overflow with a more robust one with larger capacity. Or maybe you're right and you just need to add another one.

I have a Lifereef overflow. They make some nice ones that can accommodate a lot of GPH - the double model. prefilter box, siphon box, overflow box, siphon overflow, Eurobrace, Euro-brace, Euro-tank
__________________
threnjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 03:42 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
I would add a SCWD to split your output, it will alternate between the two outputs and use up some energy. Also a "T" fitting and a ball valve after the pump to drain excess back to the sump will let you adjust your output. I used 2" PVC pipe for the overflows as this is what fit my bulkheads and believe it could handle 5000 PH. IMO you should re plum your overflows with PVC pipe as large as your bulkhead. Good luck!
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 05:23 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Are those white things under the bulkheads check valves? If so that could your issue right there.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 11:03 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ian14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 357
No, they are unions. I am unfamiliar with Scwd
__________________
Ian14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 12:03 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...m?pcatid=10668
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 12:30 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
If you have 4 holes drilled in the bottom, you could use all 4 for drains and come over the top with return(s). In the first picture you posted with the pipe sticking up with teflon tape on it, is that staying that way? If so, when the power goes out, the tank will drain all the way to that pipe before it stops.
I would remove all elbows from the drains. Straight pipes will increase the flow.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overflow vs No Overflow tlkng1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 06-21-2011 11:24 AM
Corner Overflow vs. Back Overflow BeaglesBuddy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-10-2010 12:21 PM
need some help on some decisions for my 88 gallon aquarium smmers57 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 23 07-07-2010 08:04 AM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
To overflow or not to overflow... RLG2182 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 01-04-2005 02:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.