Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-24-2007, 11:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 177
Need to add a sump

I have a 90 gl. tank with a remora pro skimmer and would like to know if I could use this skimmer with a sump tank?
__________________

__________________
SassyAngel111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 08:48 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
The Remora Pro is a HOB but it can HOB of a sump if tall enough. That's the only issue, otherwise it will only be more efficient at skimming since the water in the sump is skimmed from the surface where most of the DOC resides anyways.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 02:34 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree that it can be done provided it meets the criteria Micah mentioned.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 12:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 177
Well I just measured the skimmer with the cup and under the tank for clearance and not enough room to put a sump there and teh only other place I would have is to the side of the main tank, which then would be infront of a window but kinda afraid of putting there even though I have heavy curtians over the windows. and cant put it on the one side of the tank since I have a vent there. Any other suggestions?
__________________
SassyAngel111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
taking tank apart to add a sump will8 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 01-25-2009 04:45 PM
want to add a sump/Refugium JoshsReef Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 11-26-2007 11:35 PM
Add Sump Omega General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 10-06-2005 09:05 AM
How can I "add a side sump" ? mound DIY Projects 12 05-24-2003 12:17 AM
Can I add cc to my sump? MaggiesGame Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-17-2002 05:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.