Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-20-2011, 12:51 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

needing a routing diagram for 2 canister filters on a 48" long 55 gallon tank

hello all,

short time reader first time poster... i have found myself on this web site several times just doing searches on google. so i figured it was time to join. i have searched both web and this site for an answer but not really finding an answer. so here is my long drawn out question and some back story....

im a mechanic and do well enough with diagrams. i am also a fan of redundancy when it comes to my fish's aquariums. i am going to be upgrading (arguably) to canister filters. 2 per tank. what is the best placement for the pick-up tubes and output spouts? more info... all of the tanks are 48" long, on my cichlid tank ive got the typical rocks. on my tropical community, ive got fake greenery on the back wall. all of my tanks have or are being fitted with 18" bubble wands.

thank you for your time

Old 06-25-2011, 12:32 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

ok, so i suppose im just going to put the two return spouts in the middle and the pick ups in each of the corners. that will keep the hoses the shortest and the same length for the in and outs.

Old 06-30-2011, 07:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

I think that sounds like a good plan
Old 06-30-2011, 10:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist

Probably like coffeetwitch said - or vice versa. BUT - why two canister filters - one will work great if it's the proper size!
Old 06-30-2011, 11:06 PM   #5
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years

POTM Champion