Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-08-2003, 03:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Send a message via Yahoo to dash_0210
needs help with power filters

im new to power filters..and planning to buy one..there are 2 design variations that i see on the store regarding the orientation of the motor.the first one a submersed power head pushing water up to the filter box the other is a motor that sits next to the filter box..which of the 2 is better??

Old 07-08-2003, 07:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

It depends on your tank...if you want space buy the one that sits next to the filter box. IMO, i think the totally submerged one is better because it is sure to cause some rippling effect on the surface thus created more oxygen for the fish

Old 07-08-2003, 11:19 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I'm missing something here. Can you give the brand/model of the filters you're looking at? IMO, the best HOB (hang on back) filters for freshwater are the Emperor 280 and 400. They are easy to maintain, do a good job, and are unbelieveably dependable. They also have media containers so you can run activated carbon, synthetic resin, ect... in addition to the filter cartridge. If you prefer the hang on canister, look at the HOT Magnum. Be sure to use it with a bio wheel if you go that route because this filter doesn't have good bio capacity by itself. The Whisper HOB filters are good also, but IMO, a distant second to the Emperors. What size tank do you have?
Old 07-09-2003, 01:55 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

Send a message via MSN to wabyrd
I have to second the Emperor filters. I have two Emperor 280s on my 55 gallon and the tank and filters are a breeze to maintain!
wabyrd is offline   Reply With Quote