NEW 200 Gallon tank! what to do now?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zhida

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey guys im fairly new to the saltwater scene but i have a 8 gallon nano reef for about 6 months and know the basics....This is the thing my aunt gave me her 200 gallon tank which use to be a FW for parrot fish...she moved and gave it to me in which she sold all the fish for about 40 a piece(they where rare color and big) so now i want to convert it to saltwater what are the kinds of things i would need for that size aquarium...so should i go foward with it or will it be very expensive and just to give up....i would prolly need alot of hardware becasue it is being converted...and ps its best if i didnt need to drill anything but if you guys think it would be better choice please let me know...i been looking all over crazy coulnt find alot of info about such a big tank..thank you guys for the help!

Read this thread to start.

You need 1½ - 2 pounds per gallon of rock (base and LR)
Sand for a substrate (or bare bottom)
An overflow (or two) to get water down to
A sump
A return pump to bring water from the sump back to the tank
Power heads to increase flow in the tank
Then the standard stuff, lights, heaters, etc.

Come up with a list, post it for review and wait or the responses. You need to do some of the ground work first.

I have found, even though my new tank has some problems (nuisance algea, LFS has no awesome live rock in stock.. haha etc.) the joy it has brought me already has been worth the money ive spent to get it going.

keep going man, once it's up, its on autopilot (as long as you do your maintenance)