New 29G Tank; Sell me on a filtering system

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

n7plus1

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm looking at doing a canister setup on this new tank but I'm relatively new to the world of aquariums. A local fish store recommended an EHEIM unit. What should I be looking for? I am unfamiliar with canister systems, as I've been running a simple 10G with an over the edge unit for a few months.

I finally got a tank size I wanted for our little nook in our upper foyer and a stand that'd fit nicely. A hidden canister system in the stand is ideal for what I'm looking for.

Tank will be freshwater for now. Are any interchangeable between fresh and salt? I only ask for "future proofing" the tank.

Eheim are amazing but so expensive. Get a filter that has a gph rate of 4 -10 x your tank. And one that has trays so you can customize and change the media. I run sunsun and they work well

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

An EHIEM 2211 would be fine for your tank. I have one on my 29 and it works great.

Canister Filtration

Hello n...

A filter that hangs on the back of the tank will do the same job as a canister filter, for roughly a third the cost. Hagen has a good product, look at the AC50, about $35.00 However, if you have the money, then the EHEIM Classic would work for your tank. They're around $80.00 plus some shipping. The canister is more work to maintain though.

Your call.

B

a glass top and custom cut rear section for a canister system is too alluring and Id like to keep evaporation to a minimum.

EHEIM looks like a good option, and German made. You say they are expensive...arent the Fluval units pricier?