Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-27-2011, 02:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Tifta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 368
Send a message via AIM to Tifta
New Canister filter just bought

Hey just bought a new Canister filter, I was just wondering how long it takes for bacteria to form? I still have both my HOBs on my tank right now. I don't want to take them off until my canister can build Bacteria.
__________________

__________________

Tifta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:23 PM   #2
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
How long is really an impossible answer to give. You can speed the process along the process by moving some of the media into your canister.

If it were me, I'd probably remove one HOB and move all the media from it into the new canister.
__________________

__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
LyndaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 5,816
+1

I've been in your shoes. Took all the filter media, including the biowheel, from the HOB, stuffed into the canister and voila, instant cycle.
__________________
75: blood parrots, featherfin cat, emperor tetras, turquoise rainbowfish, BN plecos, japanese trapdoor; 46: WCMM, gold inca snails, ghost, bamboo & amano shrimp, kuhli loaches, rummynose & ember tetras, endlers, platies, flame gourami, guppies; 16: pygmy, peppered, loxozonus corys, otos, assassins, RCS ... ~ Research PRIOR to purchase.... ~
LyndaB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 04:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
I did this last week. Took all the media from my two filters and put it in the bottom tray of my new canister. No spikes/problems at all.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 04:51 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Tifta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 368
Send a message via AIM to Tifta
Gee I wonder why I didn't think of this before. lol Thanks guys!
__________________

Tifta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister, canister filter, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with canister filter PLEASE heathers_hounds General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 17 11-05-2011 06:14 AM
Are filter pads and sponges necessary for canister filters? edmond General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 10-01-2011 08:55 PM
Canister filter maintainence Polly91 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 09-03-2011 08:50 PM
50 gallon canister filter question sobersteve323 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-12-2011 03:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.