Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-12-2008, 02:07 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California
Posts: 44
New Filter

I just got the Fluval 305 Canister Filter for my saltwater tank anyone have this filter? The reviews on the internet say thats this filter is really good but i want to get someones opinion on this site. Thanks
__________________

__________________
Social_d87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 02:38 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
I personally like the idea of no filter and using the Berlin method. Just a bunch of live rock and good water flow if you have that there is no need for a mechanical filter at all. With the money you spend on a canister filter you could buy enough live rock to maintain the biological filtration fully. Although the canister filter is good for flow and a nice spot for chemical media. This can also be accomplished in other ways. Just a little food for thought>
__________________

__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 02:50 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California
Posts: 44
Ohhh... well i got it really cheep and brand new so i was like what the heck it wouldn't hurt you know. Im going to upgrade my 29g to maybe a 55 thats why i got the filter because im going to have a good amount of fish and coral in the new 55 and i thought the canister would help with that. Also would i run the filter while i cycle the tank or just use my powerheads and bio wheel?
__________________
Social_d87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 11:28 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
I have a 46g with 80# live rock 2 hydor Koralia 2's and the return from my sump(Mag 7) and thats it. I have a really small biowheel for running chemical media or seeding a quarantine tank. You could possibly use the 29g as a sump for the 55g. When cycling the tank you will need something for bacteria to develop on such as live rock etc... as the bacteria is on the surfaces and not in the water so much.
__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 06:04 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I have the 304 (last year's model) and the FX5 and love them both. I like to fill them up with LR rubble and run purigen in them.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 10:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California
Posts: 44
So should i use the 305 on my tank im hearing mixed advice. Has your tank benefited from the 304? I would love to use it because like you i would like to have live rock rubble in one of the media slots. Also i dont know how the canister filter would be a nitrate factory if you clean it out and use the right media. thanks for your help
__________________
Social_d87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 10:37 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tired of the mod power plays; gone to another forum
Posts: 267
Since you have it, use it. Either clean it on a regular basis. or even better yet take out all the filters and basically use it for flow. Then when you need to filter for something specific add what you need , say carbon what ever, you have a filter that you can just drop the media in. Using the LR is also a great idea.

Since I haven't moved to the sump side of the house yet, I have 2 cans running with inline heaters on both. Usually there is nothing in them at all unless I need it for something. Then I pop it in, let it do it's job and take it back out. I have enough LR in the tank so I don't bother w/ LR in can(s)
__________________
tawolcott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 06:15 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I pulled out the foam in both of them, that keeps the nitrAtes down, along with regular cleaning.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 06:17 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I did want to add canisters are a personal preference. Some folks use skimmers, I don't.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, new filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canister filter vs. HOB filter for a planted tank fort384 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 02-02-2009 01:09 AM
are Wet/dry filter & Mini-Reef Filter the same thing?? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-26-2005 04:02 PM
Does Micron Filter Pad work well with HOB filter? ahboy22 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-08-2005 09:41 PM
How to filter 200 gal. Would pond filter work? arowanaman420 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 11:05 PM
Small Internal power filter as a secondary filter chasgood General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-17-2004 01:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.